Ramblings from my life…

I’m dreaming of a white… birthday?

On Saturday, my youngest daughter celebrated her 6th birthday.

She was so excited to show me how old she was on her hands. “Look mommy, I need BOTH hands now!!!”

no mistaking it... she is 6!

The morning started with some homemade pancakes. Let’s just say I will not be posting the recipe that I used. Blech. The birthday girl took a few bites and then politely asked for some frozen Aunt Jemima pancakes. Smart girl. The 7 year old ate them all. When I asked her if she liked them… she replied with, “no, I was just being nice.” Hm… maybe this kindness thing IS wearing off?

By 9 am, the snow started. What are the chances… snow, on the 5th of Dec – the ONLY day that I have a party planned. Thankfully the roads stayed clear and all of her girlfriends from Kindergarten were able to make the party. We went to a kids haircutting place that throws parties. They did hair, makeup and nails. Ten little girls in girly girl heaven.

freeze dance

limbo time

tea and manners...

When we got home, it was time for party number two. My parents and sisters family braved the weather to help celebrate some more. This time cousins ran around punching ballons, eating pizza and cake and finally the birthday girl opened her presents. She told me later that night, “Mom, I had the best day ever. Thank you for today.” (pause) Exclaiming: “I had FOUR parties. First during Thanksgiving at Mimi’s house, then on Friday we celebrated at school and my class sang happy birthday to me, and now today two parties.”

You deserve it! I am so blessed to have you in my life. Happy Birthday sweet little one.

Happy new born! Dec 5, 2003

  

Happy Birthday! Dec 5th, 2009

2 responses

  1. Just like her Mom, she is

    It does take two hands to show the number six, and it takes two hands to hug, Thank you for the big hugs you give with this blog! I remain greatful!!
    🙂

    December 7, 2009 at 11:05 pm

  2. Hello from Romania ,
    please read the blog – My heart His words – at Humbled and convicted , my friend Tammy Nischan wrote them the story and some pictures of some poors what we try to help them for Christmas .Our LORD will be so proud of us if we will do something!
    I love you blog,
    sweet blessings and MERRY CHRISTMAS!
    Violeta

    December 11, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Leave a comment