Ramblings from my life…

The walking pal

Lately my 8 year old has been taking walks with me and the dog. I was hesitant at first that she would get too tired, since I walk for more than 30 minutes. She assured me that she could keep up… and boy did she ever… she even jogged.

Today on our walk, I decided to use the time to do “get to know you” questions. I have done this with both girls in the past when I have alone time with them, as suggested from a “date with your daughter” book for moms. I asked her questions like, “What makes you the most happy?”  To which she replied, “Spending time with you.” Or, what is your favorite color, food… etc. I also asked her what makes her the most sad. Her reply was, being alone. I asked her when she was ever alone and she said that if there is a babysitter and we are out. Normally the girls go to their grandparents house if we go out on a date night… and have maybe had a babysitter 3-5 times total in the last 4 years. I regress.

I then asked her what her favorite play time activity was… like, digging in the dirt, swinging, coloring, playing house, etc. She replied, “well, I love to dig in the dirt and pretend that I am a Paleontologist.”  Stop. “Okay, so do you know what a Paleontologist does?”… “Yes, of course mommy, they dig up dinosaur bones… you know that I love to dig in the dirt!” I think I was probably beaming all the way home.

I'm ready... Let's go!

3 responses

  1. From on "digger" to another

    What exciting lives your daughter’s will live. You are preparing them well!

    June 6, 2010 at 10:17 am

  2. mommy

    And don’t forget how much she loves pretending she is cooking outside with all that dirt and those leaves!!!!!

    June 7, 2010 at 6:19 am

  3. Pingback: When I grow up « Another Revelation

Leave a Reply

