Ramblings from my life…

Wishin’ and Hopin’

As I mentioned before, my kids signed up to do the school talent show with a few friends. I had the girls over to practice after school yesterday and the 6 year old has decided that she no longer wants to be IN the show. She informed that she wants to just be in the audience.

Anyway, I went over the song and movements with the girls a few times and then left them to talk and play for five minutes while I cleaned up the kitchen. I was getting ready to head back out when I heard the most awful scream. Now, the 6 year old is what we like to call “a drama queen”, because she usually over reacts to situations. So, my first instinct was to roll my eyes and prepare myself for the “what now” speech. Only, I didn’t get to give it because a friend came running in saying, “she got stung by a bee!” I immediately grabbed the baking soda from the fridge, dumped some into my hands and wet it to make a paste. As she came running in, I started to rub the mixture in. I then had her rinse her hands and applied a nice patted down clump of the mixture. She kept it on for a few minutes and took some benedryl. The swelling went down and she was fine an hour later. Paranoid mom that I am, I still checked on her before I went to bed to make sure she didn’t have a fever. I had a horrible reaction to a bee sting when I was her age… so, you never know.

In other news, the girls have been taking Enrichment Karate classes after school. Our local martial arts center is offering the classes at the school, immediately following school, one day each week and for less than half the price of their usual classes. They even decided to add on 3 extra classes at their studio for no extra cost. The girls are loving it. Not only do they get to earn a white belt at the end of the sessions, but they are also learning self defense and what to do in the case of a stranger trying to take them.

hi-ya

One response

  1. Hi, my name is Pete, I’m writing on behalf of Shelterwood–a licensed residential teen treatment facility with two locations in Missouri. Would you be interested in including a link to Shelterwood.org as a resource on your site? We would be open to a link exchange as well if that is something you might be interested in.

    We are located on the web at http://www.shelterwood.org. Look forward to hearing from you.

    Regards,

    Pete – Shelterwood

    May 3, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

