Ramblings from my life…

The scent of a memory…

Funny how certain scents can take you back. Today on my walk, I smelled wood burning… like a campfire… and instantly was flashed back to the last time we went camping. This, of course, led me to smile because in a week I will be camping at the Disney campground. My parents own an RV and thought it would be fun to drive down and go camping and do a few days of Disney in between. Apparently we stayed at this very campground when I was 5 or 6 years old. The best game plan is to camp, relax, hike and hang out, then a day of Disney, then rinse and repeat a few times. This way the kids get to rest up before running around Disney all day. I’m wondering if I will remember being at this campground or at Disney… and if any scents will trigger my memories.

So, what usually happens the week before a vacation? Something goes wrong… right? Yup, my camera broke. I’m not sure if someone (meaning a 6 year old that loves cameras) dropped it… or if it just magically broke on it’s own… but the thing won’t turn on – or if it does, the lens goes coo-coo.

Along similar lines… last night we watched Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with the girls. We had rented the book from the library and read a few chapters a night together, then we rented the new version of the movie. I have to say, I remember in the old version that both Willy Wonka and the Oompa Loompa’s were a bit looney – and the new one was equally as looney, but better because there wasn’t as much song and dance. The songs were right out of the book. Anyway, in the movie Willy Wonka has flashbacks to his childhood which are triggered by things that the children say.

As far as books go, even though we own a ton of series books that we haven’t even read… I am tempted to check out some of the oldies like “Anne of Green Gables” and “Little House on the Prairie” and then rent the movies. This way the kids imaginations are running and then they get to see their imaginations come to life during family movie night. Yet another fun learning experience.

What scents trigger memories for you?

a memory of 4 years ago...

One response

  1. I think about this all of the time. There are so many scents that bring me back to different times and memories. The smell of a new baby doll….Christmas morning. The smell of a new workbook….first day of school as a kid. There are so many more that happen out of no where and just bring me back.

    March 20, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

