Ramblings from my life…

I buy milk…

I’ve never been a big fan of juice. When my kids were toddlers they drank milk and water. Maybe once a week they had watered down juice… but they would never finish it. Husband and I don’t drink much juice or soda, so I don’t buy it. If I crave a Pepsi, I will buy one… usually about once a month or less.

When the kids started school, I started putting juice boxes in their lunches. The lunch boxes would come home empty, so I assumed that they liked the juice. Then one day I went to school to have lunch. My 7 year old, who was 5 at the time, only took a few sips of the juice the entire lunch and then tossed the rest. Okay, I get it… lunch is short, but…

Fast forward two years. I went to have lunch with my Kindergartner a few weeks ago. When we walked into the lunch room, she proceeded to the lunch line. I corrected her and told her she brought her lunch from home today and that she could buy lunch on Friday. She replied with, “I buy milk!” Oh really? Nice to know. When I asked her what she did with her juice box, she immediately had an answer, “Well, it is for snack time, of course!” Oh, silly me… I had just assumed that the water bottle you take to school every day was for snack time. (On a side note, the 2nd grader was just as shocked to know she was allowed to buy milk whenever she wanted!! ha ha).

Now I leave you with a few of my favorite pictures from our family reunion photo shoot.

The Cousin Band

The Cousin Band

4th generation

4th generation

The fam

All of us

2 responses

  1. That’s great! I love it that your youngest has it all worked out! 🙂 My girls don’t really like juice either. They will drink it but they much prefer milk or water. It’s a good thing! I wish I could cut down on the pepsi like you….

    November 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

  2. Expecting Mommy

    Love your reunion photos! Everyone looks great 🙂

    November 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

