Ramblings from my life…

The music in my mind

I love music. Ironically, you will hardly ever find music on in my house or even in my car.

I love the sound of silence. There are so many beats, pulses and tempo’s going on in the world around us. You just have to take the opportunity to hear it. Like right now I can hear the hum of the computer and the pulse of the dehumidifier.

I have so many tunes and lyrics running through my mind, minute by minute that I almost always forget that there is no music on. I drove 15 miles this morning before I noticed that I had turned the radio off yesterday. I could put on an entire musical show with the songs my brain comes up with. Normally, the music stays in my head… and sometimes, when the silence grabs me, I start to sing out loud.

I think a lot of people are uncomfortable with silence. There has to be some sort of action going on… a TV, a radio, conversation. I just like to hear what the air has to offer.

I'll fly away...

I'll fly away...

3 responses

  1. I love the quiet ~ long for it. I think after working here all day in the constant quiet it is hard to adjust to noise at home!

    September 25, 2009 at 12:53 pm

  2. Cathy

    I completely agree!

    I often take time to dig through my music and select just what I want to listen to when I go out for a walk only to end up with my headphones around my neck the whole time!

    Instead I enjoy listening to the sounds on my walk. I especially feel peace in listening to the wind in the trees.

    It’s during those times that I truly feel like I can hear God speak to me.

    Thank you for sharing your inspired thoughts through your blog. I have no doubt that it’s a blessing to many!

    September 25, 2009 at 1:07 pm

  3. grammy

    me too!!! like mother, like daughter!!!

    September 25, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

