Ramblings from my life…

Through the eyes of a little girl

Looking over the lesson plans for a two day job in 4th grade, I realized that some of the things they were learning about I didn’t quite remember learning… ever. The class was interesting to teach. We had math, language arts, science one day and social studies the next. The classroom is equipped with one of the new Digital Visual Presenters. These things are amazing. You can set a book on it, press the auto focus and read the page together. Or you can set down a normal piece of paper and write in pencil to go over homework. I probably used it for more than half of the day to show examples of things. Bye bye chalk.

At the end of the day, both of my girls came up to the class from their rooms. Seeing them standing there next to fourth graders suddenly made them small again. They were trying their hardest to be cool and have a conversation with the big kids. It was pretty entertaining. I can’t believe my oldest will be a 4th grader in just two years. Scary.

Over the years, I kept picturing how the world looked through their eyes. I finally got to see what their typical day is like. I mean, how many times have I volunteered at school… but I have never been there all day and seen the kids at work. I sneaked out to recess during my break to watch my 7 year old play. She didn’t see me and she was jump roping. She was laughing and having a good time with friends – in her own world. You don’t get to see that everyday.

It was a nice reminder of what the school years were like. The fun, the challenges, the friendships and the teachers. I’m so excited to be in the school and learning new things. Who knew.

One response

  1. The OLD teacher

    Digital Visual Presenters, Well in my day we would scrape a rock tablet with a rock of a different color. You kids and all your modern stuff; give me a pull down chart or map any time. Oh yea, WELL DONE! Wish I was in your class! 🙂

    September 22, 2009 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

