Ramblings from my life…

Q is for Quiz

Did you know that there are quite a few “q” words that don’t have a “u” after them? Most of them are words that I’ve never seen or heard like, Qats. I don’t know what it means and I’m not gonna look it up. Curious?

In other news, my kids once again have made their momma proud! This summer the girls have been having mini swim lessons with a high school student. She basically was getting them over the fear of water. They really trusted her and after 8 times in the water with her, the 5 year old was dunking herself under and the 7 year old was kicking her feet and “swimming” with her head out of the water for a few feet.

On Monday, the girls started formal lessons at the swim center. The super bubbly teacher had them both dunk their heads 10 times in the first 3 minutes. My eyes nearly popped out of my head to see the 7 year old do this! What did the teacher say? By day two both girls looked really confident and again they both put their faces in the water. (This is also huge for the 5 year old who used to scream when she got her hair washed!) After the lesson, I got in the shallow end with the girls and let them play. Since Pig Me Too has been using goggles to go under water, I asked Pig Will if she wanted a to try. She has always said no, so I was shocked to hear her say yes! She put the goggles on and kept dunking herself. Then, the most amazing thing happened… she started swimming. Real swimming. She put her face in the water, did her arms and legs right and then came up for air. All of this from the girl who wouldn’t put her face under last week!

Today the swim teacher is going to take them to the deep end. I’m a bit nervous since the teacher can’t touch there either… but I’m not going to tell that to the kids! She said that she will put life jackets on them down there – so, I hope that doesn’t cause them to back track. Since the goggles are what made both kids want to go underwater, they will both be using them in today’s lesson. Stay tuned for pictures!

One response

  1. Wow! Give the girls a big “I’m proud of you hug” from Aunt Crisanne.

    July 29, 2009 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

