Ramblings from my life…

P is for Pet Peeve

Everyone has certain things that make them cringe. I’m sure we have many in common (like drivers that only care about themselves), but that is not my biggest pet peeve right now. I’d have to say that the little creatures that make their home under my back yard are the most selfish things I know. We have moles – and maybe voles too.

This morning I looked out the window to see 2 little squirrels playing on my swing set. They were chasing each other up and down each side and one even jumped onto a swing and took a quick ride. Oh, I see it how it is… they are mocking me! They are in the same crowd as the moles. Digging, burying and frolicking around my back yard. The most noticeable creature is the rabbits. They have completely taken over. They take the mole tunnel holes and make them their own hide out. They graze on the clovers and wild strawberries that have grown year after year in our yard. They sit there twitching their noses and planning their next move. Then somehow, they all disappear for the rest of the day.

Last week when I was mowing the lawn, I spotted something out of the corner of my eye. It was fast. I stopped mowing and chased after it to get a closer look. It looked like a mouse without a tail. I guess the vibrations from the lawn mower had scared him out of his home underground. The place I was mowing is where my loyal dog has deemed his duty spot, which makes clean up rather easy. This is also the moles favorite tunnel spot. So, not only is the grass grow tall and green here, but the ground is super soft and the mower tires always sink.

So my dear little backyard creatures. Watch out. The humans are taking back over.

One response

  1. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

    October 11, 2010 at 2:13 am

Leave a Reply

