Ramblings from my life…

N is for No!

How often do we say no? I feel like I am saying it all the time. No means no, right? Not always to a kid. I think they feel exempt sometimes. “No, no, don’t touch that Tommy.” and then they touch it again.

I completely agree with firm parenting. What mommy or daddy says goes, period. If you disobey twice, there are consequences… usually a time out or loss of a privilege. I only use the swift pop on the bottom in extreme circumstances… in fact, maybe only once or twice a year.

That being said, I do not agree with mean parenting. As in, the child never gets their way and mom or dad are just mean. I have zero tolerance for someone that screams at a child in public, grabs their arm and tells them to be quiet (in not so nice terms). Since when does acting like a child make your child behave? I can understand placing your arms on the child to get their attention… but unless you get down on their level – it is not going to be affective.

So this lady at the grocery store has two pretty hyper kids with her. A 10 year old and a 5 year old. Okay, I’ve been there… my kids love to be hyper but my method of getting them to behave is not what I saw (and heard!) her do. She screams, “get the h*** over here and quit (insert other foul language) doing that!” Then she grabs the 5 year old by the arm and jerks her next to her. This basically does not affect the child as she turns right back around and grabs some candy off the shelf. Oh boy, more screams, hands buried in face. I felt really sorry for the 14 year old check out boy.

When I think that I can’t handle anymore of how my kids are acting, I get down on their level… either hold their face in my hands or place my hands on their arms and talk to them through gritted teeth. I can’t say that my method is right either… but I am not hurting them or screaming in public. I usually tell them that if they are not going to calm down that they will lose privileges at home. (TV, snacks, etc…)

Well, I had intended on writing about a few “no” subjects, but I guess my tangent turned into a long vent, so I’ll close and leave you with this cute picture.

doesn't she look like one of those old fashioned tennis players?

doesn't she look like one of those old fashioned tennis players?

2 responses

  1. uh-oh …you’re already on “n”! Looks like I am behind, but that’s ok with me. Just THINKING about blogging is an improvement. LOVE the picture.

    July 23, 2009 at 8:10 am

  2. Kate Patton

    This is what scares me about having kids! And no, no news yet Kimmie!!

    July 24, 2009 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

