Ramblings from my life…

J is for Job

Before I get to my post, I really want anyone with a child under age 8 to check your state laws for child passengers. Our state law was changed last summer that kids under eight absolutely had to be in a booster seat (at least, if not a car seat) unless they were already 4 feet 9 inches or over 65 pounds. I am barely over 5 feet tall… and I don’t think I’ve ever seen an 8 year old that was as tall or me (or a few inches under me). Our law also *recommends* that the booster remain in place until they are 10 years old if the child has still not reached the height and weight requirement. It flabbergasted (is that a word?) me that my friend did not have her 7 year old in a car seat. (My 7 year old is still in a 5 point harness!) I was babysitting them and she was complaining about being in the booster seat b/c she doesn’t use one. When I mentioned it to her mom – she was shocked to learn the new law. (The old law was age 6 and 60 lbs.) Of course, I still don’t think that her 7 year old is anywhere close to 60 lbs yet. I’m not sure if she will go out and buy another booster for her 7 year old… but I hope she does. It could make the difference of her child’s life if they were in a car accident. It CAN happen.

Okay, rant over.

As most of you know, I have been searching for a job that will go along side with my kids schedule. I still have found nothing permanent that meets all of my needs except substituting. However, the public school system in my county is currently not accepting subs. So… the wait continues.

One response

  1. Wow, not accepting subs. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of such a thing!

    July 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

