Ramblings from my life…

All in a days work!

This weekend we went camping. My parents own an RV with two beds and wanted to take the girls to a fun camp with a pool and playground. They asked if hubs and I wanted to come along, so we did. We packed our own tent though because we haven’t been real camping since our first year of marriage, nine years ago. The trip was fun and the girls are still there with my parents. Since husband had to work today, I came back with him to try and catch up with housework. Before I get to today, let me describe our time at the campground (minus fun stuff!).

1288912965

Our spot was right near the playground, which was great for the kids and easy for us to sit at our site and watch them play. (You wouldn’t believe how many kids would wander down to play with no adult in site??? crazy.) The people camping next to my parents RV were a group of two campers. They had lights linking their sites and picnic tables between the two for meals. They also had out (and always on) a small flat screen tv, a blender to make drinks and a few dogs. At night, some local friends would come visit them. The first night was okay, we had our dog in the tent with us and the people left pretty early. We did hear a few cars throughout the night – which was odd since the camp “closes” at 10 pm.

At bedtime on the second night, with my parents and the kids tucked away in the RV, husband and I sat by our fire for another hour or so. When the fire had trickled down and was well within the confines of the metal barrel, we went to sleep. Since we had heard thunder, our dog stayed in the RV. After about 30 seconds of being in the tent, we hear a loud car pull up, a flash light shine on our tent and a voice saying “security…you are going to put out your fire, right?” Yes sir. Husband goes out and pours water on the embers. An hour passes, I am in and out of sleep b/c of the noisy neighbors. Again, we hear a loud car pull up, a flash light sweeps around… noises, noises…. and then I hear an entire bucket of water being poured over the non-fire. Really? After he leaves the neighbors get loud again, their dogs start barking – they start hounding their dogs and playing along… security comes again. All is quiet… for 5 minutes when the thunderstorm starts. Okay, I can deal with this, it is a lulling sound and I fall back asleep – for another 10 mins until I am awakened by a drip, drip, drip on my forehead! So it rained most of the night and our tent leaked most of the night… but we stayed out and got on and off sleep.

On to today. Since the kids stayed with my parents until tomorrow… I have all day today and tomorrow to catch up on housework, laundry and such without interruptions. Now I am convinced that I need a mother’s helper for the summer so that I can get things done. I washed two loads of laundry, cleaned both bathrooms, the kitchen, cleaned the leather and wood furniture, dusted and vaccumed, mowed the grass and still have time to do something fun today! If I had a mother’s helper here 2 or 3 times a week – I could get all the housework done super quick, mow once a week so husband wouldn’t have to on the weekends and even go running. So… the search begins… let’s see if I can talk any of the teens I know into it…

3 responses

  1. Exactly! This is what I need!

    June 15, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  2. Becky Fitzwater

    you can come drop them off with us for a fun play date…then i will drop mine off to you so i can do the same..it will works and sounds good to me.,……

    June 15, 2009 at 7:44 pm

  3. rescue dog provider

    let the new dog watch the kids! that will free up your time!!!

    June 16, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

