Ramblings from my life…

Puppy love…

Yesterday I started researching adding another Golden to our family. Originally the idea was to look into a flunked out seeing eye dog. So, he would be around 2 years old and very well trained. After visiting two sites, I learned that the waiting list for a flunky was about 6 years. They were not even taking requests because their lists were so long. However, they did have several links to rescue dogs. I’m not sure why the thought hadn’t crossed my mind before… maybe in my head rescue dog meant mutt, and I wanted another golden. However, I was open to the idea of a few breeds until I read that Golden’s are the #1 over-bred dog and are in great need of adoption. The numbers on each site I visited were incredibly high for Golden’s – mostly because people want puppies. Most rescue dogs are over age one and the greater of them are well over 2. So, we are going to continue to research adopting a rescue Golden Retriever, if the fit seems right for our current dog, and possibly have a new family member by Christmas. I think having a younger dog around might be good for Rusty, the one eye 8 year old pup.

In other news, I think Pig Will might have the best memory of any 7 year old out there. She is right on target with her school skills (not behind, not advanced) – however, when it comes to remembering lyrics to songs – whoa, watch out! She only needs to hear them twice and she will sing them all, word for word. Honestly, I didn’t believe it at first when she sang an entire song… I had to print out the lyrics, sure that she would have one or two words wrong… but time after time she proves me wrong. I don’t get how she understands all the words – sometimes vocalist are hard to hear – or they mush words together.

Finally, the last day of school came and went. We are going camping this weekend to celebrate. Let’s hope it doesn’t rain on us!

3 responses

  1. grammy

    i think you need to keep Madison for 2 weeks or so before you get another dog!!!!!!

    June 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  2. rescue dog provider

    have I a dog for you, will love Rusty and stay only on his right side, a perfect companion, well behaved in sleep, and loves girls. Check her out this weekend; she could be available to you before Christmas. And this dog is no “flunky.”

    June 11, 2009 at 7:56 pm

  3. I love the idea of a rescue pup!

    June 12, 2009 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

