Ramblings from my life…

Kick Molly

The other night, husband and I had the brilliant idea of watching The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Unfortunately, we did not realize it was a forever movie… and didn’t get to bed until after midnight. I have mixed feelings about the movie… but I guess, if anything, it made us both feel sappy with each other. I actually like aging – at this point. I don’t think I’d want to age backwards.

After falling asleep – a mere 2 hours passed and wouldn’t you know, I felt like someone was standing over me. Sure enough, there was a 5 year old staring at me. It creeped me out – but I think my gasp freaked her out even more. After putting her back upstairs, enough time passed to let me fall back asleep (5 mins?) and she was right back staring over me. Talk about a nightmare! When I asked her in the morning why she kept getting up (side note, I tend not to ask my kids what is wrong in the middle of the night b/c that delays getting them – and me! – back to sleep. I just tell them that everything is okay and that they are safe.)… here was her story, but first some background…

The only thing we bought the girls from our 2007 trip to Italy was two singing dolls. They actually move their heads back and forth and sing some funny song in Italian. We have no idea what the words are, therefore we can’t translate them. While we were playing with the dolls one day, we asked the girls what they named them. The 7 year old says a name which I cannot remember now. The 5 year old says, “Molly”. What a cute name, right? So PMT, why did you name her Molly? To which she replies, “because mommy, she sings the song, Kick Molly, kick Molly, kick me and Molly thinks”. Now we will never figure out what the doll is singing because we only hear the kick Molly song. So… on to the nightmare. PMT tells me that her dream was about Kick Molly singing her song and her lips were really moving. That would be enough for me to come get mommy in the middle of the night too!

3 responses

  1. I know "Kick Molly"

    well my “kick Molly” is a friendly cuddley little toy, one never to be afraid of, the translation as I understand it is ” oh my little good friend, let us play together” please change the name to “love Molly” or “hug Molly”!!

    June 8, 2009 at 8:12 pm

  2. grammy

    I remember when we bought those dolls. I can still here the song in my head!!! Never guessed they would cause nightmares. I will be sure and disallow them on our upcoming camping trip!!!!!!!!

    June 8, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  3. grammy

    oops, I spelled hear wrong!

    June 8, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

