Ramblings from my life…

Another chapter closes…

Today was the last day of preschool. Both girls attended this school, so this was the end of four years there. It has been pretty emotional for me… probably a mixture of my baby leaving babydom and the fact that I was at the school pretty much everyday volunteering. When husband was in Afghanistan in 2007, I practically lived there. The teachers have been my buddies, accepting me into their clan and letting me hang out. It will be hard next year to drive by and not want to stop in to say hi. Maybe I can adopt another preschool aged kid? Don’t think the hubs will go for that one…

… and so it goes. I can’t seem to stop time. My kids are growing up and I can’t stop them. Nor do they want me to. I asked them the other night if they would just stay little and they both replied with “no mom, getting older is fun”. WAH!

I am getting ready to plan my daily routine for summer. I want the kids to have fun just doing nothing – but I also need structure or they will start to fight. Last summer we had school in the mornings and playtime in the afternoons. We plan to go camping with Grammy and Grampy, hang out over at their house or with their cousins, go on playdates with friends and finally at the end of the summer have swim lessons again. Hopefully the next 3 months will go slow so that I can enjoy my kids. I really don’t want to have a 2nd grader and a Kindergartener….

3 responses

  1. Belle tells me regularly that she wishes LB and LL were still little babies because they were so cute. Don’t think she’d accept the same fate for herself! I still can’t believe how big PMT is getting, mostly because I know LB and LL aren’t far behind.

    June 4, 2009 at 8:59 pm

  2. grammy

    You are smart to enjoy every minute because it really does go fast. I remember wanting time to stop, too, because I loved watching you two girls having fun and learning new things. BUT, having said that, being a grandparent has brought immeasurable joy, amusement, laughter, and lots of love, so I am very thankful to you and your sister for giving me four awesome grandkids to love!!!!!

    June 5, 2009 at 6:41 am

  3. you can stop time, momentarily

    Just last night we were looking at photographs from a trip to Italy, for the time were looking, time had stopped. It was fun to see our grandchildren, and their parents too, having so much fun. I was remarking to a guest how well behaved our group was. And remembering too just how much we walked and walked and walked. So this summer enjoy the time you have, take a few pictures and know new experiences are on the road ahead. Look forward to them expectantly, the days only get better. 🙂

    June 5, 2009 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

