Ramblings from my life…

A thing called Mother’s Day…

I’ve always found it funny that we need a special day each year to celebrate at the same exact time as the rest of country. This goes for all of the Hallmark holidays… but never-the-less, I was showered with a ton of blessings yesterday.

Saturday was spent in the yard, mowing the grass twice because it has grown so long from all the rain, planting new shrubs and laying new mulch. From 7 am until 9 pm until the last of the mulch we had was laid. Husband ate all meals outside. So Sunday morning he got up early to run and get some more mulch to finish the yard. When the girls woke up, there was no one to remind them about saying Happy Mother’s Day to me. I made them breakfast and started the day like any other. Then husband called and told them. I heard Pig Me Too say, “but I don’t have a gift!” and then they hung up.

The girls summoned me upstairs and Pig Will presented me with her gifts. At school they have been working on a few things for the last two months. A plate, that had to be sent away to finish, a card, a poem and the wrapping paper. When I saw the card, my eyes teared up and I told her that it was very sweet. I ooohed and aaahed over the plate and she gushed at my praise. Then I looked at Pig Me Too and said, “your turn”. She told me to stand up and then she gave me a hug, which made me tear up again. Then husband got home and had flowers for me, which he handed to the girls to give me.

We attended my sisters church for my nephews baby dedication. Pig Will sat in the row in front with her Uncle while my other nephew sat in the next row with Pig Me Too and the grandparents. During the service, Pig Will passed a note back to me. Here is what it said:

“Dear Mommy, Did you like the Presint? I hope you did! I worked on it at shcool. I worked riley hard. Miss (enter teachers name) said you will love it and you did! Wy did you cry? I wunt to say thank you! Love, PW”

When we got home, I made linguine with bacon crusted scallops and shrimp in a lemon oil sauce. We spent the rest of the day outside enjoying the nice spring breeze. What a wonderful Mother’s Day.

2 responses

  1. That was a top Mother’s Day in my book! Very sweet.

    Kelly

    May 14, 2009 at 1:34 am

  2. b.

    Hi! How are you?

    I really, really need prayer.. do you think you could visit my blog and bring any other Sisters in Christ over too?

    God bless you!

    May 16, 2009 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

