Ramblings from my life…

Smashed Peas

What is it about babies not liking smashed peas? I mean, I’m not your biggest pea fan by far – but I do like split pea soup. My first daughter ate so many of the orange baby foods that she actually developed Carotenemia which causes the skin pigment to turn orangish. The good doctor suggested we only give her the greens for 2 weeks before reintroducing the oranges. Well, of course it didn’t go over well at first – but as she got used to them, she grew to love peas. However, when I tried to then give her carrots again, she refused. Maybe this is why today, at almost age 7, her favorite food is peas.

Last night we babysat our nephews so that my sister and her husband could go out for their 5th wedding anniversary. The kids played well together and the boys went to sleep like good little angels. My sweet girls decided that talking, laughing then fighting was a good idea. Anyway, during dinner my instructions were to feed the 8 month old applesauce and peas. Applesauce yummy… peas, not so much.

The next morning my sister made pancakes for everyone and the cousins ran around like crazy monkeys until it was time to go. It was a fun adventure for us all.

2 responses

  1. Oh what fun

    Pea’s pea’s pea’s, smashed or in soup, my favorite is on a knife with mashed potatoes’. Glad the time was fun, tell us more!! 🙂

    March 29, 2009 at 1:00 pm

  2. Speed is good

    I understand there is a parking problem at your home? where is the garage when you need one?

    March 30, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

