Ramblings from my life…

Lessons from The Flood

A long time ago there was a great flood. God told Noah what to do to protect him and his family from disaster. He was faithful and obedient and his family survived the storm.

We have life lessons (mini-storms, if you will) to prepare our hearts and our homes for life events. Illness, accidents, betrayal or even natural disasters. Are we listening to life lessons? Are we preparing our hearts and home for disaster?

I love how the Bible opens my eyes. I have probably read Genesis throughout several times over the years, but each time I study it, new things become clear to me. For example, I guess I always skimmed over the part about the animals on the ark. We’ve heard the story so many times that we just do the “yah, yah” thing when we get to that verse. (At least I do.) My goal this new year is to actually READ word for word as I study. Did you know that Noah took two of every creature, male and female, of its KIND? He took seven pairs of each clean animal and two pairs of each unclean animal. That means that he actually took 14 so-and-so’s because they were considered clean animals and he took 4 each of the unclean. There were also 8 humans. Noah, his wife, his 3 sons and their wives. Wow, that must have been one crowded ark! (Genesis 7: 1-24)

The lesson I learned this morning was more than those new facts. It was a lesson to me to listen more – to others, to the Word of God… etc. It was a lesson to me to strengthen my relationship with God and to pray for others to have a relationship with him.

Sometimes He Calms The Storm, Scott Krippayne

All who sail the sea of faith
Find out before too long
How quickly blue skies can grow dark
And gentle winds grow strong
Suddenly fear is like white water
Pounding on the soul
Still we sail on knowing
That our Lord is in control

Sometimes He calms the storm
With a whispered peace be still
He can settle any sea
But it doesn’t mean He will
Sometimes He holds us close
And lets the wind and waves go wild
Sometimes He calms the storm
And other times He calms His child

He has a reason for each trial
That we pass through in life
And though we’re shaken
We cannot be pulled apart from Christ
No matter how the driving rain beats down
On those who hold to faith
A heart of trust will always
Be a quiet peaceful place

2 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    WOW WEE, what a great life lesson you teach us, I will join with you in that prayer. please keep posting, your thoughts are a bright spot for my day!

    January 22, 2009 at 9:34 am

  2. That is so true! I hadn’t really thought of it in that way, but God really does prepare us for what we have to face. It’s like Mother Theresa said, “I know God doesn’t give us anything we can’t handle, I just wish he wouldn’t trust me so much…”

    January 24, 2009 at 9:35 am

Leave a Reply

