Ramblings from my life…

How the cookie crumbles…

So, here it is. My week in a nutshell. Monday morning the five year old wakes up complaining that her ears hurt. Even though she never has had an ear infection, I didn’t want to chance it and took her in to the doctor. Sure enough, double ear infection. Antibiotic one.

Wednesday morning I took our faithful dog, Rusty, to have his eye checked again. At this point he had gone completely blind in his eye, but seemed happy. His left eye showed a normal pressure of 4… his right eye was at 38. We scheduled surgery for the next day and I left there devastated.

Thursday morning, as I was doing my normal routine, I fed the dog. While he was chewing his last bite, I realized what I had done. Surgery was bumped 8 hours and I took him in. Since the Canine Optomologist was concerned about a tumor, she had recommended that they take his entire eye out to send to Pathology. He did well with the surgery, but since it was so late, she recommended that he stay overnight.

Friday morning, my 6 year old wakes up at 3 am with a fever. Her eyes look rather goopy and she complains that they hurt. I send the 5 year old to preschool and take the 6 year old to pick up Rusty. After a ton of paperwork and explanations, the swollen one eyed dog emerges. It melts my heart, he is my baby. The surgeon had shown me a picture of him to “prepare” me… which made me start to cry. He looked so much better in person. I recommend skipping the picture part. He is so happy to see me, but will not remove his tail from between his legs. Poor guy is embarrassed. He has a cone around his head so that he will not scratch at his sutures, however, this makes him run into walls. Remember, he has no depth perception nor does he realize how far the cone goes out. Antibiotic two, plus two pills.

Saturday morning the 6 year old wakes up and has a fever. I call the Pediatrician and take her in. They drawl her blood, her white count is too high, so they give her two shots of Antibiotic in her legs. Antibiotic three. She does not have conjunctivitis, but rather an infection in her lids. The doctor sends us home with an Antibiotic and eye drops. Antibiotic four.

And so there is my week. Three family members on Antibiotics. This week should be easy. No school today and 2 hour early dismissals on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

5 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    You have been through a rough week, in the near future you will rename the second full week of January 2009 to “antibiotic week” and most likely giggle a bit. Just how have you and your husband missed the drugs? You are an amazing Mom! Rusty thinks so too.

    January 19, 2009 at 10:06 am

  2. grammy

    But on the positive side, thank God for antibiotics!!!! Hope you all have fun today!

    January 19, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  3. I am thinking we need a mommy’s only dinner after the week you had!

    January 20, 2009 at 8:32 am

  4. Aunt Syl

    I am so sorry to hear of the difficult week your babies have had. I pray the worst is over and each day finds the three of them feeling better. (and you too)

    January 21, 2009 at 1:10 am

  5. Pingback: The Golden Child « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

