Ramblings from my life…

Family Musical

My house is like a Broadway show. There is constantly some kind of music going on. In fact Pig Me Too is singing Hannah right now. Seriously, we really could be a Family Musical. Anyone looking in would be very entertained. I’m not sure if it is “High School Musical” quality, but there is always some kind of action or drama going on here. Even husband can be caught singing a line to the kids here and there. It is quite comical. We make a song out of everything. “What do you want for dinner?” “Are we leaving yet?” “I love you so much” You get the point.

The other night we watched “Enchanted” with the girls. It hit right at home for me. Not the part about life being or not being a fairytale… but just about how much we really do sing through our lives. Music means so much to me. It describes my mood, how I am feeling. I think there is a song for every emotion I’ve ever felt. I’m glad to see that my children express themselves that way too.

In the movie, the Prince and the Princess sing a song called “True loves kiss”. I was being silly this morning and singing the song when the girls giggled. When I asked them why, they said that daddy had been my true love kiss and we lived happily ever after. I love children’s innocence!

In other news, Pig Me Too, who just turned five, read me the entire “Spot” book from the Dick and Jane series this morning. Pig Will (6.5 years) is now reading the Magic Tree house novels by herself. I can’t believe how much they have grown up (and learned!) this school year. PMT asked me if she can go to Kindergarten now since she can read… too funny. When I told her no, she has to finish preschool, she replied with, “oh, okay mommy, preschool is fun too.”

3 responses

  1. I’m with ya on music being like breathing. The music in our lives creates the soundtrack that we live by. The added gift of singing that you and both have makes it even more special.
    Keep singing and making beautiful music in ’09 K!
    XOXO-K

    January 6, 2009 at 12:39 am

  2. THey really do grow up so fast! I also hear you on the music We don’t sing that much, but you can tell the mood of the house by the music in it.

    How awesome that Pig Me Too is reading!! It’s so cute that they said Chris was your true loves kiss – children are so perceptive and what a wonderful gift you are giving them by modeling that for them!

    January 10, 2009 at 8:01 pm

  3. Cute.

    They really do sprout far too swiftly!

    Blessings,
    Linda
    HEART OF A READY WRITER – Reading Through the Bible in 2009

    January 12, 2009 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

