Ramblings from my life…

Another year older…

This week has been filled with many wonderful memories. Monday, Pig Will’s first grade class made and decorated gingerbread houses with their 5th grade big buddies. I volunteered and had fun watching them work together. On Wednesday, we went ice skating with the girls and my sister’s family. This was the second time they had been and were a bit scared for the first hour. Soon they picked up a few moves and were begging to go back again. So, today, we took them to an outdoor rink and they both did fantastic.

Christmas morning the girls actually slept in and husband and I were up making coffee and breakfast when they finally came down. We didn’t take turns this year as we usually do… we just let them open one, right after the other at the same time. They would spend a few minutes inspecting the gift and then, since we wouldn’t open the wrappers, move on to the next gift. That afternoon we packed our bags and headed up to my parents house. My sisters family spent the night there also, so the cousins had a fun time together. I think this years Turkey was the best I’ve ever had. I’m not quite sure the exact recipe… but I do know that my dad talks to the Turkey while he gives him an hour massage.

So, back to today… it is my birthday. Being in my thirties never bothered me before… and it still doesn’t. However, being 33 feels a bit different. I’m not sure what it was, but I think I felt a bit wiser when I woke up this morning. I had a wonderful day. Husband made me coffee and breakfast. Then he cleaned up (which he does quite often). We went ice skating for 2 hours and then out to a German restaurant tonight. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this yet… but husband and I are going to Germany in February for a few days. We are doing a European delivery to pick up his new car. It should be a wonderful adventure. So, anyway, we wanted to show the girls what kind of foods we’d be eating over there, so we picked the German restaurant for tonight.

I’m excited for next week. The girls don’t have school and we have nothing planned. Oh – except for that Pig Will informed me tonight that we will be going ice skating on Thursday.

img_54811 img_54781

3 responses

  1. Happy Birthday!!! 33 is a nice number and proved to be a good year for me, so I’m sure you will do well too.
    I’m looking at 34 in a few days and that is freaking me out since the next number after that is 35. AHHHHHH!!!!!!!
    Anyway, I hope you all have fun skating on Thursday and Happy New Year!!!
    XOXO-K

    December 27, 2008 at 11:33 pm

  2. grammy

    And you get prettier every year!!!! Thanks for sharing the evening with us!!! We love you, Mom and Dad

    December 28, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  3. Hope you had a wonderful birthday!!! It certainly looked like you and the children were having a wonderful time iceskating! Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog – your comments helped alot! Much love and best wishes for a wonderful new year!

    January 1, 2009 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

