Ramblings from my life…

The non-office party

non-office party

Last night was husbands office party. I had been asking him for weeks what the attire was for the party to which he replied that he never received another email with information about the party. I looked through my closet and only had summer type cocktail dresses or long gowns (previously worn to Hawkeye/Greyhound Ball’s). I called my mom and dad since they were out shopping and asked if they’d take the kids so that I could dress look. After trying on 30-40 dresses, none of them fit or looked right, except two that were both over $150. I just couldn’t justify buying a dress that expensive to wear only once every few years.

So yesterday, after dropping the kids off to spend the night at Grammy’s house, husband and I headed over to my sisters house so I could try on some of her dresses. Since she had done the company party thing before, I had a nice selection to choose from. I found a really cute dress and we were set to go! (Thanks sis!!)

When we got back home, I asked husband to check his email one more time, just so we’d know if we should eat beforehand or not. Sure enough, there was an email dated November 3rd with company party information. Inside were the details, Cocktails from 6-7, dinner from 7-8:30 and dancing from 8:30 until 11 pm. Then right under it were the words, “respond by November 17th”. Nice, right?

We then proceeded to get on the Internet and do a Google search for theaters showing A Christmas Carol. We found one, ordered tickets online, got dressed up and road the metro into the city to see the show. Afterward we went to a nice Spanish tapas place and sat on a cozy couch together. We drank nice Spanish wine and ate cheese, Calamari dipped in Queso and grilled lamb wrapped in bacon drenched in a cheese sauce. For dessert we had Cappuccino’s and a chocolate mouse cake with espresso bean sauce. Yum.

I think the night turned out to be the best company party I’ve ever not been to. Who knows, maybe we will forget to RSVP next year too…

4 responses

  1. jeannie

    You look so beautiful.

    December 15, 2008 at 12:32 pm

  2. L

    Hilarious. I think you both salvaged the night very! nicely. 🙂

    December 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  3. That’s hysterical! ha ha… you look great in my dress. 🙂

    December 15, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  4. I love the picture! You guys look awesome and so happy! I’m glad you had a wonderful evening together in spite of missing the party…..

    December 22, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

