Ramblings from my life…

Where the bat lives…

Often, early in the morning, I hear a strange tapping noise outside. I’ve never been curious enough to figure out what it was. I have also noticed on several occasions a bird flying and hitting the house… but not often enough to remember that it happens probably every day.

This morning, as my husband and I were talking, I saw “the bird” hit the house. Only this time, he kept trying over and over. We thought he was trying to go for the light that he saw indoors, so we turned out the light. It was still dawn, so it was hard to see him… but husband noticed it flying around in circles in the yard and then he’d make another go for the house. Then we thought, maybe it is a bat! Sure enough, just as the sun was starting to show, he made it… behind the siding of the house.

When we did our kitchen renovations, we also installed a new window. However, husband never got around to adding trim on the outside of the house… so there is a gap where the siding lays against the house. Apparently this makes for a nice bat cave. Who knows how long he has been there… or how many friends he has living there too. Pretty creepy to think about. Now I will have to google, “how to get a bat out of your siding” – I don’t think we want to kill them… I mean, then they would rot behind the wall. Ugh.

In other news, Pig Will stayed home from school today. She came home with a fever yesterday. Hopefully it does not turn into anything else since we are leaving Friday for my Grandmothers Memorial service. A 8 hour trip with a sickie would be no fun! Little sis is being so sweet, taking her crackers, water, blankets. I think she is genuinely worried about her. It is pretty cute. This also means, of course, that she has had an overload of television today. Although, she did take a 2 hour nap! Now I”m wondering, why didn’t I?

2 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    Bat stories are so much fun to tell, do you remember one from the first time you lived in Maryland?

    November 18, 2008 at 8:47 pm

  2. Aunt Syl

    AHH – the vampire made it just before he burst into flames with the sun! 🙂

    Isn’t life great? Every day we have adventures.

    On a more serious note. By the time you read this I assume you will have returned from Grandma Kay’s service. My thoughts and prayers are with you all. How beautiful that the whole family was able to get together to honor her.
    Have a blessed Thanksgiving,
    Aunt Syl

    November 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

