Ramblings from my life…

The early monster…

When you are young, your body wakes you up and you are ready to play. As you age, you body wants just 5 more minutes to linger in bed. At the end of last school year, Pill Will started sleeping in until about 8 am. It made us rush to leave the house by 8:45, but she was well rested and was not cranky after school. She had always been a super early riser, along with her sister. It lasted through the summer and the beginning of this school year. Then one morning, she started waking up and waving from her window upstairs to say goodbye to daddy. Then she would lay back down and fall back asleep. After daylight savings, she started coming downstairs to say goodbye. Little sis, noticing what was going on, decided to start coming down to say goodbye also.

So here we are with two kids up at 6:15 am. Lunches made, husband out the door and breakfast eaten by 6:45 am. I don’t mind the earlier schedule… only I think the kids bodies do mind. You see, there is some kind of monster invading their bodies. They are whiny and mean spirited. If they do not get their way, the monster turns ugly. The solution? Put them to bed earlier. Only that doesn’t seem to be helping either.

This too shall pass… I know. One day I will have high schoolers that are begging to stay home to sleep an extra hour. I know. I know. But I was getting so used to having the 45 mins in the morning by myself. I got to do my quiet time and then check email in peace.

I hear the early monsters yelling at each other…. any advice would be nice.

3 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    Pill Will a new name? try roasting marshmellows on the camp fire, that will keep them busy!

    November 11, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  2. Have you tried moving their bedtimes later? I had to do that with Madeleine because she was up at 6:00. Um, no thanks.

    November 12, 2008 at 7:45 am

  3. Ugh daylight savings. I used to love it when I was single with no kids but man does it wreck havoc on schedules! Mine are both early risers up by 6:30 usually and no naptime, that just means that thankfully bedtime also comes early. : )

    December 1, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Leave a Reply

