Ramblings from my life…

Dear You…

It is not too often in life that we thank those people in our lives that mean so much to us… for just being them. Below I am going to name a few people that have really impacted my life and why. Obviously, Jesus is my number one. He died on the cross for my sins and gave me my salvation. It still blows me away that He would do that for little me. It also is amazing to me that God would sacrifice his only son so that we can have eternal life with Him. That brings the lyrics of “Amazing Grace” to reality. Amazing Grace… how sweet the sound. I remember the day that it clicked in my head… how sweet the sound… oh, how sweet the sound of the words Amazing Grace… God’s grace, His Amazing, beautiful, sweet grace. Grace that He gave me – even though I am a sinner. Thank you Jesus for dying for me.

Without my parents, I would not have the solid foundation of love, security, good morals and joy. I did not realize all that I put them through over the years until I became a mom. I did not realize all that they sacrificed for me, until I too was put in those shoes. At the time, it seemed like no big deal to me… but today, I am truly amazed at their dedication and love. Before my senior year of high school, my dad changed jobs. He moved to another state and came home every other weekend. I was so selfish for not wanting to move again before my senior year, that I thought they owed it to me to let me stay. My sister was already off to collage, so it was just my mom and I. We had moved so many times with job promotions, the last one being right before my 8th grade year… which is basically your “senior” year of middle school. So, again, I felt that they owed me the opportunity to stay put. After my husband deployed for the first time, I realized just how much my mom gave up for me. How much they both sacrificed for my happiness. Amazing love. Thank you mom and dad.

My husband is my best friend. He knows me the best that any human could. When we were dating, I was so amazed at his strong faith, his solid character and his vast knowledge. There were areas of my life where I had struggled with my forgiveness. I still could not believe that God would completely forgive me for my past sins. My husband helped me know the truth and work through those doubts. He has always been my voice of reason and his intelligence still baffles me. Thank you hubs, for always having confidence in me and sticking by me. Thank you for loving me.

My sister has been so many things to me over the years. A friend, a big sister, an example and a helper. She has been my friend many times over the years. Sure we had our sisterly moments growing up… competition, fighting… but mostly, she looked out for me and made sure I was doing well. She has set many examples for me, the ones that stick out the most are – being a Godly wife. Putting your husband first and meeting his needs. The other being a Chef. I never liked to cook, but watching her put joy into making food for her family made me want to try harder… and now I love to cook. She has also been a helper in too many ways to name. Thank you sis for everything.

My sister-in-law, Megan. Even though she is 14 years younger than me, I look up to her. She sticks by her faith even when those around her might laugh. I am so proud of her for all of her accomplishments in life, and for being a faithful servant of God. We could all learn something from this 19 year old. Most of us tend to hide our Christianity in the work place, school and other social environments. Megan, you are a pillar of strength. Thank you for setting a good example for us all.

My old neighbor Mary. A few years before I met my husband, I started going to Bible studies across the street from my parents house when I was home for the summers. Mary always had encouraging things to say and many, many lessons to teach. Mary was my moment of peace on my wedding day. (Read: Reflections) She helped me realize that my future and my faith were what were important on that day… not my past or my hurts. Thank you Mary for making a difference in my life.

My pastor, Bill. You were one of the main reasons that we moved back to this state. Your ability to teach the Word is incredible. I never got much out of sermons in the past. I would listen and maybe learn a thing or two… but nothing really stuck. When I hear you preach, you have a way of making me understand. Not only do I learn, but I learn to apply. Thank you pastor Bill for giving me “meat” to live off each week.

Finally, I’d like to thank my two beautiful little girls. They bring joy to my heart everyday. They have such a sweet and lovely demeanor. I am so excited to see their personalities bloom. Thank you girls, for loving me and for being every mothers dream.

3 responses

  1. meg

    i love you so much! this truly touched me.. and i thank you for that! can’t wait to see you in a few weeks!

    love you sis,
    Meg 🙂

    November 7, 2008 at 6:54 pm

  2. your biggest Fan

    You are such a gift, as we just put two of the greatest gifts to bed after a fun time this evening, reading and saying our prayers as “mom would”, I receive yet another blessing, your words are comforting and full of grace, thank you. please keep on sharing your gift of words with us all!

    November 7, 2008 at 9:28 pm

  3. your biggest Fan

    WOW, you are such an inspiration to me to thank others for what they have done for me. You are a blessing everyday to me and those two granddaughters are the light that fills the room!!!! It was such fun keeping them and the grandsons Saturday. No person can be more blessed in the world than to have grandchildren like my 4. Thank you for loving us and your family so much!!! Mommy

    November 10, 2008 at 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

