Ramblings from my life…

A day out…

My kids are really popular with the 1-3 year olds. I’m not sure why they are so drawn to them… but I’m assuming they MUST be cool. I have a few friends that tell me that when they go somewhere, their 1-3 year old will ask, “are Pig Will and Pig Me Too going to be there?” (okay, so they use their real names!) They also say their names together like it is one name.

I’m pretty stingy with family time. I feel like there is never enough of just the four of us cuddling, playing games, watching movies, baking and reading. My 6 year old will get calls every weekend from a classmate asking for her to come over and play. I mean, I know they have their own lives… but I don’t want to give that time up with her. They grow up too fast as it is. I don’t get to see her for 7 hours each weekday, why would I want to give her up for 2 or 3 hours on a weekend?

Then there are days like yesterday. I thought it would be fun, after voting, to spend the day out doing things together. We spent 3 hours at the book store, which was fun… but frustrating that there are not more good novels just “in your face”. I had to search aisle by aisle… imagine! At least the girls were enjoying looking at the books they had picked out. We had a quick lunch and ice cream and then I tried to look at a few stores for gift ideas or things for myself. I had promised them if they were good that they could go to Pottery Barn Kids. They weren’t bad, they just weren’t good. They wanted to play hide-n-seek or pick up the fake snow on the department store floor. So I came up with a clever game of follow the mama duck.They quacked pretty loud as they followed me around the store… but it worked!

Anyway, I let it get to me a bit too much and when we finally got home, I made them pick up the basement while I cleaned the upstairs and had a glass of wine. Maybe we should have just stayed home and played, read and baked cookies. Next time I will know better!

2 responses

  1. It sounds like most of the day was fun even if they didn’t behave perfectly. Try not to be too hard on yourself for “letting it get to you”.

    But, the staying home reading and baking cookies, well that sounds like even more fun!

    Many sweet blessings!

    November 5, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  2. your biggest Fan

    … and that glass of wine!

    November 6, 2008 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

