Ramblings from my life…

A pea never tasted so sweet

My oldest daughter was born in April, this makes her flower a sweet pea. Usually she lives up to her name and is a sweet little girl. However, the girl can also throw a tantrum. I’m not talking about a 2 year old tantrum… I’m talking about the 16 year old kind. Yelling, whining and shouting things like “fine” “whatever” “your rude!” Ha!

My sweet pea is very kind. Not only will she give up her ice cream for her sister who just dropped hers, but she will eat the tops of her asparagus so that little sis can be “done” and excused from the table. Oddly enough, one of her favorite foods is peas. Yep. I am not much of a pea fan, it is okay in split pea soup… but plain, they are kind of mushy and just bland. I’m not sure if it is the flavor she is after, or just that she thinks that they are fun to eat… but last night she had 4 helpings. I don’t normally buy peas, but when I remember, I buy them for her.

Pig Will is also very smart. Of course all moms think this about their own children… I’m not saying she is extremely advanced, she is just right on target for a six year old. It amazes me to watch her brain work. She doesn’t need to sound out at as many words anymore, but when she does – she is more confident than before. She is also doing really well in math. Speaking of math, (side note) Pig Me Too’s class has pulled 5 of the kids aside and they are teaching them simple addition. Amazing how much they can learn at the preschool age. Who knew.

Today I went on a field trip with Pig Will’s class. We went to the greenhouse and learned about planting new plants for shelter and food for insects and animals. We also learned how to compost. I’ve seen a show on it before, but didn’t know that you could add foods like banana peels, apple cores, corn cobs and egg shells. We searched a pile of fresh compost (which looks like rich soil but has no dirt in it at all…) for bugs. There were hundreds of rolly polies and tons of other little bugs. Overall the field trip was very educational and fun.

One response

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    Does Pig Will eat her peas from a knife? It is fun to watch them roll down into your mouth, much better than squishing them into mashed potatoes.

    November 1, 2008 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

