Ramblings from my life…

A tribute to a wonderful Grandmother

I sent out this email to friends and family today. I had a few of you ask that I repost it here on my blog. I know that I’ve posted this song on here before… but it has meaning for so many things. Lord, I WILL praise you in this storm… because through you I can do anything. You make all things possible – whether a goal we have set or a tough time that we are going through. So with out further ado… I give you, “A Tribute to a wonderful Grandmother”

Heaven gained a beautiful woman today.
Let the earth rejoice for the life well lived.
She was so much to so many.
Grandma Kay, you will be missed.

Thanks for all of the wonderful memories.
I will always think of you when I eat See’s candy and salami.
I will always laugh when I hear someone sing, “K-K-K-Katie”
I will always smile when someone tells about one of your many adventures.
I will remember your love when I look at my dad.

Sometimes God calms our storms. Sometimes He chooses to ride them with us.
Romans 8:28 / 2 Corinthians. 4:16-18
Psalm 42:5 / Psalm 121:1-2
Job 1:20-21

(and from yesterday’s sermon… and Dad’s favorite)
James 1:2
“Count it all Joy my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.”

Praise You In This Storm
Written by Mark Hall / Music by Mark Hall and Bernie Herms

I was sure by now
God, You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with You”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

CHORUS
I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
Every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry
You raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with You”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

CHORUS

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth
(repeat)

CHORUS
Though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

At our small group tonight (a group of 3 couples that meet for Bible study), we discussed questions pertaining to the sermon from Sunday. The sermon series we are studying is Revelations. The biggest topic is how to overcome. As we were leaving, this other song popped into my head and seems to fit rather well.

You Never Let Go
Matt Redman

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back
I know You are near

And I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

Chorus:
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
We’ll live to know You here on the earth

Chorus:

Yes, I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
Still I will praise You, still I will praise You

4 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    I am grateful for your loving kindness, your words are great comfort for all of us. Thank you.

    October 14, 2008 at 8:15 am

  2. L

    (HUGS) Still thinking of you guys.. It’s funny that you mentioned K-K-K-Kaitie (Caitie).. my grandparents sing that to Caitie, too. 🙂 How sweet..

    October 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

  3. Aunt Syl

    Honey, you continue to amaze me with your ability to express yourself and the depth of your faith. Grandma Kay was indeed one of a kind. And so are you. My thoughts and prayers are constantly with you and your family – and are more so now. Love, Aunt Syl

    October 15, 2008 at 12:00 am

  4. Lyric, I’m sorry for your loss. Your grandmother sounds like an amazing woman. I know you, like I, find comfort in knowing that our loved ones have gone to a much better place. (((HUGS)))

    October 24, 2008 at 7:45 am

Leave a Reply

