Ramblings from my life…

Green living…

So the concept of the green bags are great. They are popping up everywhere, mostly in places that you frequent often – like grocery stores. However, about 60% of them are not very well made. In fact, they even say that the average shelf life is only 2 years for these bags. Technically, any bag that you “reuse” is green. So even if you take back the plastic or paper bags that you were given last time, you are being green. Or, take for instance the nice sturdy shoulder bag that I have. It is made out of 100% recycled materials, has a cute design, can be used for travel, as a purse or for groceries. Today I bought two actual “green bags” that are much more well made – meaning the thread is in the inside of the bag, instead of on the outside. I’m not sure that I will buy anymore though… I think I’ll see what kind of looks I get when I show up with my two green bags, my shoulder bag and my MOPS tote.

Not only can you use these bags for groceries, but local business are also getting in on the green. I recently saw some at Toys r Us, and there was an article in our local paper for 5 downtown businesses (mostly clothing stores) that are offering a 10% discount EVERY time you buy something in their store and use the bags. I think it would be a great incentive if grocery stores offered anywhere from a 3% discount for using 2 or more bags or even up to 10%. Why not? They offer incentives for gas, helping schools… etc… why not our own pockets?

I can’t say that I’ve completely gotten down with the whole being green thing. I’m trying though… I’ve switched to green works products for cleaning and we definately turn the lights out when not in use.

Share some ways that you are green. What do you think about the green bags? Sturdy enough – or use some totes/bags that you already own?

5 responses

  1. eve

    I am all for going green but there are some some places where I draw the line. I don’t use green bags for shopping (people think you are shoplifting) and I do reuse the grocery bags I get for a lot of things. They are not wasted.
    I recycle just about everything so I don’t feel too guilty about not doing it all. I buy used more than new. I sew and remake my clothes all the time. I cook from scratch so as not to buy all those cans and cardboard boxes. But if I do buy something in a can or box, it will get reused. I compost for my organic garden.
    That’s about it. We do try to make one trip do, when we go to the store.

    September 22, 2008 at 7:01 pm

  2. We don’t use paper towels as often as we used to. I take old under shirts from J (or stained hand-me downs for the kids) and cut them up to use as rags.

    I like using the reusable bags, I just forget to take them in with me! I’ve thought about making some that would be stronger, but haven’t gotten inspired yet…I don’t think it’s strange at all to take in a variety of bags. I take them to Target and everywhere (again, when I remember). I’ve seen people around here with all kinds of crazy bags!

    September 22, 2008 at 8:38 pm

  3. I bought the bags at Toys R Us but am thinking I want something with more substance behind them. I also use cloth napkins now. It was an odd change but I am getting there. I still use paper towel to clean. I also recycle 50% of our garbage. I need to work on my system for this though. I keep running out of space in my bin. We also changed our lights over.

    September 23, 2008 at 11:33 am

  4. Kate

    The Safeway where we shop has the “green” bags which I have accumulated, but I also feel they just aren’t as sturdy as others. I have accumulated many other canvas type bags over the years, and find they are better lasting quality. They can also be washed in the washing machine, as opposed to the Safeway brand…they would be detroyed in the washer. But I keep them behind the drivers seat in my car so that each and every time I go into a store, I reach for them. Even if I don’t buy something, I have them in case I do. I roll mine length wise and keep them all in one tote. Oh, and none of mine match either, whatever. One is from a Princess cruise and it’s waterproof/lined for cold items….which I recommend. I take them into Costco with me too…although, the bigger items don’t even need a bag. I have also stopped taken a bag for distilled water (need it for a treatment used daily), as well as detergents and such. It’s nice that a lot of the major brands have switched to using a stronger more concentrated detergent. For insatnce, Tide is sold in smaller (recyclable) bottles, and you are supposed to use less. But do you think that is deceiving…a marketing ploy perhaps aimed at individuals who want to “try” to be greener?

    September 23, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  5. twofish4

    Hi, stumbled on your blog. I’m a self proclaimed green machine. I am a “compator”, a blogger and a crunch gronola kind of mumma.
    Reusable bags are the easiest and best way to make a real difference. I encourage every one to throw a few in their trunk for easy access!

    September 24, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Leave a Reply

