Ramblings from my life…

Independence…

You know what? My kids have independence. They are their own little people. They have a life outside of our inner family circle. Each day (almost) they go to school, learn, talk, eat and do stuff that I will never know about. They have friends, in-side jokes – you name it. It sort of bothers me.

Last night at cheerleading practice, it hit me hard. I was sitting with Pig Me Too on our blanket while Pig Will learned some new cheers. While the coaches were talking, PW turns to a friend and they start doing some little hand game. They have their hands clasped together reciting something (think pat-a-cake) and then do a hand shake and snap. Really? Seriously? Who taught them that? Did they make it up? Why hasn’t she ever showed me the cool hand game?

I have good kids. I don’t have to worry about if they are being bullies, hitting or talking when they aren’t supposed to. Which is why it was strange when I picked Pig Me Too up from preschool and she exclaimed, “I got a time out today!” Huh? Not my kids. Okay, what did you do? “I put my hand in my mouth.” … and you got a time out? Yes. Hm. So, I asked the teachers today about it and they looked at me like I was an alien. PMT did not get a time out. Why in the world would she WANT a time out? Maybe because the “bad” kids get more attention? ha ha. Who knows, what a funny kid.

Anyway… I guess I just wish that I could video tape the girls days to see what is going on. By the time they get home, their brains have turned to mush and everything they learned has amazingly left their heads. Sometimes when I’m putting them to bed, they magically remember some events of the day… I think Bill Cosby said it best… “Kids have brain damage.” Listen to this! (Audio only)

2 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    This my be a first generation thing, I know my kids were never like that, they always spent the first hour after school detailing their day, sharing their inermost thoughts. Cool hand games, I knew them all, and the inside jokes, i would laugh before the punch like. Must be your kids? Oh by the way, would you like ocean front property in Arizona?

    September 18, 2008 at 5:46 pm

  2. Aiden keeps telling me someone is sneaking into his classroom and putting a rubber band around his ankles during rest time. Who knows why they sat strange things? I am also having a hard time with them having a world outside of our family! We need another nose picking play date to discuss.

    September 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

