Ramblings from my life…

The early bird…

I have been convicted lately that I need to spend more time in the Word. Unfortunately, it has become the book with dust during the crazy daily life. Our church is preparing to start a study (sermon series) on Revelations and our small groups will meet to discuss the sermons, etc.

My husband wakes up around 5:30 am and he challenged me to get up then too. I usually wait until he is almost dressed to get up and make his lunch and coffee. However, this part of the challenge is for me to get up prior to that and study the Word. I always had good intentions to do it first thing in the morning, but through the years – it has been more of a sporadic, during the day at some point IF at all that day type thing.

At our home group on Monday night, the question arose of “In one word, how would you describe your relationship with God?” After looking at the list of words to choose from, I chose “open”. Not having much time to think about it and knowing that my prayer life was definitely “open”, I saw no problem with it. After giving my answer and then listening to others answers, it dawned on me that I didn’t quite get the question. Sure, my prayer life is open… I talk to God openly, like a friend. But is that it? Is there substance behind my relationship?

So, here we are at day two, chapter two of Revelations. All I know so far is that there are several mentions of the number 7 and that we should repent and be saved. John also talks in the “thou art” language! I know that there is much more that God wants to reveal to me, and I’m so excited to make this commitment. (side note, yes husband has a challenge also!)

In other news, last night was “back to school” night at Pig Will’s school. She had left me a cute little note on her desk saying that she loved me and missed me. Too cute. I looked at the note at the desk next to mine (yes, we had to sit in pee-wee desks!!) and it just said, “mom, this is my desk.” Funny kid. So, I left PW a letter in her journal, per the teachers instructions. I looked at her other journal entries and she is doing so well! Her penmanship is so much clearer and more of her words were spelled right. Speaking of notes, husband has been leaving the girls little lunch notes everyday. (Pig Me Too and I eat lunch at preschool some days.) Yesterday he forgot and emailed them both notes. The girls thought it was so funny… and “cool” that they recieved an email.

Well, that is about it. Looky here… finished my study, blogged, fixed the girls lunches, drank a cup of joe and it is only 7 am. What ever will I do until the girls wake up?

2 responses

  1. Your Biggest Fan

    What a strong start, must be in the genes.

    September 10, 2008 at 8:13 am

  2. grammy

    finally, someone to get up when I do!!!!! yea!!! you will love it as you get use to it. I love reading the word early while it is quiet. Love you, Mommie

    September 12, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

