Ramblings from my life…

The Transistion, part I

So we are in the last week of husband going to the Navy Yard as a Naval Officer. Thursday was his official farewell, which I got to attend thanks to my mom! I don’t think the reality has set in yet. Monday he goes to work for a civilian company. Life as we’ve known it is about to change. Husband went to the Naval Academy, so the last 12 years of his life have been in uniform. We’ve been married and/or dating for 10 of those years. Yesterday I was ironing his uniforms and it occurred to me that it would be the last time I ever ironed those perfect creases. I bet most of you didn’t know that they have to buy their own stuff. Even their medals (ribbons) after they are awarded. I can’t tell you how many times my husband re-did his ribbon bars. We have a whole shoe box dedicated to used and unopened ribbons, ranks, wings… you name it. I bet we’ve spent a good chunk of money on these things alone. Not to mention the time that husband forgot his shoes when he went out of town and had to buy a new pair… that was just about 6 months ago. Or when he noticed that his Cover had a stain and bought a new one right before his meeting started (a few weeks ago!)… There are so many memories. Fun times (Hawkeye ball, Homecoming from Deployments) and sad times (deployments)… but they are all memories that I will hold dear for years to come.

I am so proud of my Naval Officer. He has accomplished so much. Flight school, Navagating the E-2C Hawkeye, Deputy Program Manager for Integrated Warfare Systems and E-2D CEC… I could go on and on. Life has throw him (us) so many curve balls. We didn’t get the original plane that he wanted to fly, but he made the best of the situation and excelled in the E-2. He was sent to Afghanistan… and instead of trying to get out of it or complaining, he took the high road and earned the Meritorious Service Medal for his accomplishments, efforts and leadership. Not only is my husband a distinguised Naval Officer, but he excels at home too. He is an amazing and loving husband and father. I know this transistion will be smooth and graceful, because that is how you handle all of life’s turns. I’m looking forward to our future.

2 responses

  1. grammy

    WOW, you sure know how to give a tribute! We are so proud of him and so happy to have him for a son-in-law!!!!!

    September 6, 2008 at 8:17 am

  2. Your Biggest Fan

    This is a wonderful tribute to a GOOD man, you chose well!

    September 6, 2008 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

