Ramblings from my life…

Are there beds in heaven?

I love seeing my girls brains working. When they are trying to figure something out and then they come up with the funniest questions.

On the drive home last night, I wanted to dig into Pig Will’s brain while Pig Me Too slept. I asked her the simple question of, “Who is Jesus and what does He mean to you?” First she gave me the standard answers of, “Jesus is God’s Son. Jesus is God. Jesus died on a cross to save us from our sins. Jesus loves me.”

Then the questions came.

“Why do we have to die to go to heaven? Why can’t we just go when we are ready?” So sweet.

“Will I be thirsty in heaven? hungry? tired? Are their beds in heaven?” Too cute.

“When will I go to heaven? What if I’m not ready? Will you be there? I know Lexy will be there.” !!!

“I know Jesus is God and Jesus is Man. Are they the only ones in heaven right now?”

Some of her questions were tough to answer and I tried to give the most simplistic 6 year old answer I could. I mean can a 6 year old brain really comprehend getting old and dying to unless Jesus comes back first? I’m just talking in circles and the only things that stick are, “Die, forgiven, saved and Heaven” Pretty good, I think. I finally told her that Heaven was so wonderful that no one could even imagine how beautiful, fun and wonderful it was going to be. She would have no pain, no tears, no troubles or fears, never be thirsty, hungry or tired. She would have a new body. (This was also hard to explain… why do I dig myself into these questions???)

The last 10 minutes of the car ride were silent. We pulled up to the house and walked up the sidewalk to the front door. You could tell PW was still pondering all we had talked about. As I opened the door, she looked up at me and said, “I’m going to pray about heaven.”

2 responses

  1. I love having these conversations with Aiden. He is trying to understand what death means right now because Keith’s dad passed away when he was 10 months.

    August 18, 2008 at 10:56 am

  2. It is so much fun watching the gears turn in their little brains! Sounds like you’re laying the right groundwork for her thoughts.

    August 18, 2008 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

