Ramblings from my life…

Car Conversations

My girls are the typical little girls. Pig Will (PW) is a bit more on the “tomboy” side. She loves to climb trees, dig in the dirt and explore anything new. Pig Me Too (PMT) is a bit more reserved and dainty. She absolutely has to wear a dress or skirt on most days (sometimes I MAKE her wear pants!).

So, I was not surprised when the wedding topic came up again yesterday. This time, however, it was not questions about the actual wedding, but more about how you decide to get married.

First, from PW, “Mom, how did you meet dad? and how did you know that he was your husband?” Next, from PW, “So then, how did you know he was not already married?” (laughing to self!) Then, PMT, “Did you wear a dress for your wedding? a wedding dress? and is that when daddy gave you your rings? Is the diamond one your wedding ring? Did you give daddy a ring too?” Then, again from PW, “How do you know when it is time to grow up and get married?” She was very worried about having to move out. This has come up several times in her short 6 years. I, of course, put her mind at ease and explained that she doesn’t ever have to get married if she doesn’t want to… but most likely she will meet a boy, fall in love and WANT to get married.

In other news, PMT is still afraid of having her hair washed. We had worked through some issues and finally started having a calm hair wash session a few months ago. Then, one of us (probably husband!), got water in her eyes and we’ve been back at the battle of her crying the entire time we are washing her hair. What do we do? I am sooooooooo tired of it.

Speaking of tired… what is up with mosquitoes? I don’t remember constantly battling with them until about 3 years ago. Anyone have any good solutions to not get bit? I cannot stand bug spray.

5 responses

  1. mommie

    ask your sister about the mosquitoes. she orders some kind of yard spray that really works!! ps. pigwill can live with me !!!

    June 19, 2008 at 9:56 am

  2. Erin B.

    All those wedding questions are so cute–and precious PW being worried about moving out!! Your girls have the best little personalities! As for the mosquitoes, I can’t be outside for 2 minutes without being bit and I can’t stand bug spray either…but I did find a new kind, OFF Clean Feel, that isn’t bad at all. That would be my suggestion! Hope it helps!

    June 19, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  3. Terri

    Cute stuff, Kim! Can’t wait to see y’all, and Ken WILL be coming too. We’ll talk to update you on our news. Re: mosquitos…They HATE Listerine. I saw this suggestion somewhere a couple of months ago. Pour 2 parts Listerine into a spray bottle, along with 1 part water. Spray around the patio area, and on yourself (if you can handle the “fragrance” of Listerine). Also, Lavender body oil is a very nice repellant. I’ll bring some to Colo. And a friend told me that Wal Mart carries a “bug bracelet” that you wear that she swears by. Just some ideas!!!!

    June 20, 2008 at 7:46 am

  4. Aunt Syl

    Hi sweet thing (mosquitoes love sweet things!) I read that if you put a dryer sheet in your pocket mosquitoes will steer clear. If you try it let me know because the other solution is to move to New Mexico because we don’t seem to have any – I haven’t been bitten in 18 years and they used to munch on me. Love, Aunt Syl

    June 21, 2008 at 12:04 am

  5. Pingback: Q is for Quiz « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

