Ramblings from my life…

Touch a truck, twist an ankle…

On Saturday our family went to an event at a local church called “Touch a Truck” where the children got a chance to touch and sit on different kinds of trucks. There were semi’s, fire trucks, RV’s… you name it. Before we left we let the kids get in the moon bounce. Both are really good at it and have done it several times. On her way out, Pig Will sprained her ankle. She could not even stand up because the pain was so intense. We took her home, elevated it and put ice on it. On Sunday morning things looked a bit better but she still did not want to put pressure on it. I have been carrying her to the bathroom and every where else we go. On Monday morning things were still not better, so I took her to get an x-ray. Everything checked out and sure enough it was just a bad sprain. They gave her crutches and a walking boot. She is not very good at the crutches, but they work while we are at home so that she can take herself to the bathroom. She is too slow on them to have her use them out and about.

Speaking of which, today we went to a follow-up appointment at the base medical facility. Everything went fine and the good doctor confirmed the sprain and told me what I already knew. Since we were already on base, I decided that I would get new DOD tags for my car since they expire at the end of this month. I also need to update my Military ID. So I pull into the parking spot and decided to let PW use her crutches. Only problem is we have to walk 200 feet and it is 98 degrees today. After 20 steps and only 5 feet from the car, I picked her up, crutches and all with Pig Me Too walking beside us. I walked up to the counter, laid down my information for new tags and the lady replied with, “you need a new ID first, we can’t give you tags that go beyond your expiration date on your ID.” Great. Can you do my ID here? Of course not, that is up at the medical building where we just were. I was not about to load the car back up, drive up the hill and then have to come back down for the tags. So, I took the girls for food and we ate among the Officers and workers.

The bathroom was being painted, but I think the painter saw desperation in my eyes and snuck me in. Then I got the girls ice cream and we headed home.

Here is a picture of PW’s foot… and then one of her on her crutches. Enjoy! 😛

In other news… two little bunnies have made their home for the summer in our yard. The girls are fascinated by them. They hop really high and love to play tag.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like you are doing well. Aside from Pig Will – poor thing her foot looks so sad and painful. Hopefully, she is loving all of the attention and gets used to the crutches.

    Thoughts & Prayers sent your way!

    June 11, 2008 at 2:00 am

  2. TT

    Have been thinking about poor Pig Will. Hope she gets better quick. Sorry you had such a rough day.

    June 11, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  3. I am so glad it’s a sprain and not a break. That would have made for a long long summer! Keep us updated on her progress.

    June 12, 2008 at 8:49 am

  4. Aunt Syl

    Wow – what tiny crutches! Her poor little armpits probably hurt too, poor baby.
    And poor mama. But what a good attitude to turn a frustrating situation into food and fun. Love, Aunt Syl

    June 12, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Leave a Reply

