Ramblings from my life…

Who needs sleep anyway?

Sleep is over-rated. Okay, not really… I was just trying to be funny. Maybe it is the lack of sleep. Pig Will has been coughing for over a week. When we are home, I can barely hear her when she is upstairs asleep. Our bedroom is downstairs, so it makes for a nice barrier. However, this weekend we went for a quick trip to my Brother-in-laws house to help them move. Since we all slept in the same room, PW’s cough was right there, in your face. Each time she coughed, my husband and I woke up. Luckily, Pig Me Too and her cousin Belle did not wake up.

The weekend was fun, but exhausting. On day one we drove down not thinking about the holiday traffic. Things were going smooth on the 3 hour drive when in the last 7 miles we got stuck in traffic for 43 minutes. Yes, I timed it.

On day two, the men were constantly moving furniture and boxes for 12 hours straight while the moms were watching children and doing other things. My poor BIL had just gotten off a 10 hour shift at the hospital, where he is a Resident. Talk about no sleep! Then we finally left at 9 pm for a 3 hour drive home. I don’t know, but there is something about this town that likes traffic. It took us 30 minutes to leave town due to a sobriety check. Yep. Oh, but they weren’t pulling people over… we just had 8 or 10 cops standing in two lines shining little flash lights into the eyes of the drivers as they passed. Fun, fun. We finally arrived home at 1 am.

This morning my husband had to leave by 7 am to go to 24 hour duty… so, he will be up most of that and probably get around 4 hours of sleep tonight. Maybe. I also got up early this morning and showered because I was going to sing on the worship team. A friend was meeting us at church and going to watch the girls while the service was going on. However, when Pig Will woke up with a fever, I decided to take her to the Pediatric clinic instead. There were three other people singing today too… so I didn’t feel too bad. Okay, I spent about 30 minutes feeling guilty… but I would’ve felt extreme guilt if I had gone and had my little girl laying down in the back of the church.

So we checked in to the clinic and everything was A-okay, just as I figured. He told me probably a mix of allergies and asthma, just as I suspected, but there could be a bit of a viral infection… but her ears, eyes, nose and throat checked out and her lungs were clear. Better safe than sorry, since it has been a week.

In other news, I’m excited for this Tuesday. It will be my 8 year wedding anniversary and guess what???? My husband will actually be HOME! Yep, you read that right. He has been gone (deployed in some way) for atleast 4 or 5 of them… Maybe we will splurge and go to dinner with the girls. šŸ™‚

One response

  1. grammy

    Happy Anniversary!!!!! I will be in the air flying home, but will be thinking about you. We will keep the girls this weekend so you two can have some belated quiet time together to celebrate 8 years together!!!

    May 26, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

