Ramblings from my life…

G is for Giant Bee

A few days ago I was entering the un-finished side of the basement to fold laundry when the phone rang. As I picked it up to say hello, a giant bee flew straight for me. My friend on the other end of the phone got a nice scream in her ear. As I explained to her that this bee was similar to a yellow jacket, only on steroids – she laughed at me. She probably thought I was nuts, but I know what I saw! I sprayed the ugly beast with the closest thing I could find… some Shout stain remover. The bee buzzed around dazed. I left the laundry room, clothes still unfolded.

That evening I sent my husband downstairs to find the extra large bee. He returned quickly with the predator in hand. Sure enough, this bee was the size of a quarter. Although the picture is a bit blurry, you get the idea.

…and the picture doesn’t do it justice b/c the angle gives advantage to the quarter.

2 responses

  1. grammy

    wow, glad it didn’t sting!!!!!

    May 22, 2008 at 11:53 am

  2. Erin

    Ok Kim…normally I’m a lurker, but since I got the scream in the ear I figured I had to comment. I’m so glad you killed it, because there is no way I would have entered my laundry room again after seeing how big that really was! Hope you enjoyed your parent teacher conference today!

    May 22, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

