Ramblings from my life…

The Navy Wife Roller Coaster Ride…

It happens. It never fails. Each time your Navy guy leaves, something breaks. When he is home, all it usually well. Mine is only gone for a mere 3 days this time – but just long enough for something… anything to go wrong.

Last year a rain storm caused Pig Me Too’s bedroom window to leak and drywall below peeled apart along with damage to the ceiling in the guest bedroom below. We figured out the problem was the previous owners had installed new windows and had not taken out the little window stops – strips of panel that state clearly “please remove after installing window”. So, the water collected and drained into the house. So, on to the NOW problem. Husband is gone, rain storm two nights ago. I’m upstairs getting the girls ready for bed last night and notice the paint on the wall under her window is bubbling. I touch it and it is soaked. Since we had the window completely sealed and re-drywalled – I’m not quite sure what the problem is. Needless-to-say, I did not bring this up to husband when he called last night, b/c he was already stressed enough with his meetings.

So that is the Navy Wife life in a nutshell… definitely a roller coaster ride. There are so many ups and downs, sometimes I just don’t know where I last left my brain. Not only is the lifestyle disrupting, but the emotional side is damaging.

In happy news, I’m pleased to say my Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin turned out pretty well! I’ll post the recipe on the cooking blog when I have a bit more time.

3 responses

  1. You should take the time that your guy is gone and do some of your own traveling.

    http://thetravelersnotebook.com/travel-and-adventure-jobs/join-the-navy-see-the-world/

    April 27, 2008 at 1:49 am

  2. Know exactly what you mean about the breakage. So far we’ve replaced the dishwasher, washing machine (& dryer to keep the set) and truck needs repairs.

    Yee-ha!

    April 29, 2008 at 2:25 am

  3. I know you posted this 4 years ago….but…I feel your pain. My husband left for Navy boot about 2 weeks ago and he was the Mechanic/ I.T Technician / Handy man…..now that hes gone… I feel vulnerable…got any magical advice for a new navy wife?

    January 31, 2012 at 12:31 am

Leave a Reply

