Ramblings from my life…

Happy Birthday Pig Will!

Today is Pig Will’s 6th birthday. I cannot believe another year is gone. As I was preparing for her small, all girls from her class with no adults or relatives party, I had a flash back to last year. I must have been doing the exact same thing preparing for her friends to arrive and remembered how sad I was that even though it was my daughters birthday, because my husband was in Afghanistan. He has been home now for the same amount of time that he was gone. That time went so slow. I pained over thinking about his situation – where he was and what he was witnessing. I pined over him – trying to remember his smell, his laugh. Now he has been back for 8 months and it completely flew by.

So here we are. I have a six year old. I’m not “old” by any means – just a mere 32 years young. However, it seems really strange to have a six year old.

The party went great. The “theme” of the party was “dogs”, Pig Will picked it out a month ago. She told me that she really loves her dog and she wanted to get dog plates and decorations. Okay. So, we started out with a craft. The girls painted little plastic dogs that can be hung in their windows. Then they played for about 10 minutes and we started our second craft, decorating cookies. I could not find dog cookie cutters, so we used some really cute girly cutouts… dresses, hats, crowns, shoes – they turned out really well. One of the girls informed me that she did not like cream cheese icing, the only kind I had. So, my wonderful husband made her some powdered sugar icing for her cookies. While they decorated, I made pizza – this time using the Pillsbury refrigerated dough. The girls played hide-and-seek. Then we ate pizza, cake and opened presents. It went pretty smooth and fast. They were typical girls and screamed as loud as they could the ENTIRE time. Fun fun.

I’ve started adding posts to my cooking blog. I have up two so far, but will post another right now and then after dinner tonight (if it comes out right), I will post another. Check it out! You can click HERE – or the link is on my side bar.

2 responses

  1. The years pass by so very quickly. I know what you mean – our 4th anniversary, Bekah’s 13th birthday, Ben’s 4th birthday. Hubby will miss it all.

    Pining tonight.

    April 22, 2008 at 1:28 am

  2. Happy Birthday to your sweet girl!

    April 22, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

