Ramblings from my life…

Absolutley!

My kids are always making me laugh. They both have little things they say with serious voice, that are intended for the exact meaning that they mean…. it’s just you wouldn’t think a 4 or 5 year old would be saying these words!

Lately, when Pig Me Too and I are having a conversation and I ask her a question, her usual response is, “Absolutely!” She is four years old. I’m not sure how many four year olds can spell and write their own name – she could at about three and a half… and has also added, cat, dog and her sisters name. I’m not going as far as saying she is gifted or anything… but when she uses big words and uses them properly – I’m shocked! Another favorite word of hers is “Spicy”. Anything from food to toothpaste can be “spicy” and she will scrunch her face up and say, “no, that is TOO spicy!”

The other child, Pig Will, who will be 6 years old soon, is really into saying things like, “Whatever”… “okay, whatever, no seriously, whatever” or “that is really, REALLY, cool”. I didn’t think kids started talking this way until Jr. High! Boy are we gonna have our hands full when dating rolls around.

Food for thought. Why does Pig Will wake up once, twice or 5 times a night about 3 or 4 times a week? Half the time you can just walk her back to her bed and kiss her… the other half of the time she will insist on (1) you staying with her, (2) she needs something, (3) there is a noise that is TOO loud, (4) she is not tired. This is not new. She did this about a year ago for about 4-6 months… then gave us a 6 month break and now is waking up again. She also has done this several times throughout her entire life. She is almost 6, I’m confused. Pig Me Too has NEVER done this. She woke up a few times due to illness and then was comforted back to bed. Pig Will fights with you for 20 minutes to 2 hours, half the time. Pig Will has her well child appointment coming up, so I am bringing these issues up with the good doc. In the meantime, if you have any advice or “been there’s”, let me know what you think.

3 responses

  1. Belle has always been on the spicy stuff, too. Even toothpaste! Funny kids.

    Little Bear’s big word right now is actually. I love hearing big words from such little mouths.

    April 3, 2008 at 9:59 am

  2. airdalewife

    That is hilarious, as Chiquita and Little Bear are the same way. Chiquita will get up for the smallest irritant. Little Bear – he sleeps like a rock, completely unaffected.

    April 3, 2008 at 10:52 am

  3. That was great! I got a real chuckle picturing your little one in all her glory saying those big words!!
    My youngest fave now is “Don’t contradict me!” Usually said in all earnestness with hands firmly planted on hips. It’s hilarious!

    As for the waking, I have had bouts with it too. I don’t have any advice really, like you we just survived it and it finally stopped happening. Sporty is nine now and I guess it’s been a while…. Hopefully your doc will have some insight for you!

    April 5, 2008 at 7:41 am

Leave a Reply

