Ramblings from my life…

Everyday Italian

I’ve been meaning to post some of the new recipes that I try that turn out. Only problem is, I never stick to an exact recipe. I get ideas of things that sound good together – or information on how to cook something properly, but I always end up changing something. I guess I can type out the recipes and then tell you what I did different. Here goes:

Orechiette with Sausage, Beans and Mascarpone (courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis)

1 lb orechiette pasta
2 tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 lb turkey sausage, casing removed
1 small onion, chopped
1 (15 oz) can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
1/2 cup mascarpone cheese
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground pepper

Bring salted water to a boil, add pasta and cook until tender. Drain reserving 1 cup pasta water.

In skillet, warm olive oil over medium-high heat. Add sausage and onions. Use wooden spoon to break up sausage as it browns. Add beans and oregano and cook 2 mins. Add cup of pasta water and mascarpone cheese and stir until dissolved into a light sauce. Add salt, pepper and hot pasta, stir until coated.

So, I didn’t have onions, oregano or beans on hand… so those were out. When it came time to add the beans, I added sliced zucchini (which was seasoned with pepper and salt). I also didn’t have Orechiette pasta, so I used Campanelle or “flower shaped” noodles. It was a very light and creamy dish and I’d make it my way again b/c I don’t care for many types of beans. I also would not add extra salt, as the turkey sausage is pretty salty on it’s own (plus, I had salted the zucchini).

Yesterday I tried Chocolate Chip Cookies (by the same gal above)

1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2 1/4 flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar (packed)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
chocolate chips
(she also had Hazelnuts and English toffee candy on the list – but I did not have either)

I added bits of Reeses Cups to the mixture also.

Preheat oven to 325*. Finely chop oats in food processor. (this was great b/c you can’t even tell there are oats in the cookies!) Mix in with flour, baking power, soda and salt.

In large bowl beat butter and sugars until fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add flour mixture and stir until blended. Stir in candy. Drop by tbsp’s and bake 15 mins.

My husband and I love to watch Giada’s shows on Food Network and I will usually look her recipes up. However, I was over at my sisters house the other day and spotted a cook book by the lovely gal and snatched it up to borrow for a bit. I’m hoping to make yummy tuna and artichoke panini’s one afternoon for lunch and then butternut squash gratin with pesto as a side for something yet to be determined. The Tilapia with citrus bagna cauda sounds great too…

Stay tuned!

4 responses

  1. Mmm, I’m hungry now! Glad you’re still having fun in the kitchen.

    March 16, 2008 at 10:12 pm

  2. I love Giada’s’ recipes. I have her tomato sauce recipe but haven’t tried it yet.

    March 17, 2008 at 3:05 am

  3. L

    I love that recipe.. it reminds me of a modified pasta fagioli that I make with mild Italian sausage! 🙂 Yum.

    March 19, 2008 at 4:33 pm

  4. Pingback: F is for Fish « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

