Ramblings from my life…

Sisters

Having a sister is like having a built-in best friend. I realize that not all siblings get along or have the perfect relationship… however, it is there if you want it. My sister and I have a great friendship. Growing up we played together, I know that I always looked up to her and sought out her approval. As we got older, there was a bit of competition – but mostly we respected each other and tried not to step on each others toes. (For example, we both sing, so we wouldn’t try out for the same part or solo… although it did help that she is an Alto and I’m a Soprano!) I think we became the closest after she left for college, though. The realization that my “built-in” friend was gone and the mixed emotions that I could actually be my own person, not “K’s” little sister anymore, struck me in a way that brought us closer. Then, when I married first, I felt like I was in a position (for the first time in my life!) that I needed to watch out for her, take care of her and make sure that whomever she dated was a good guy.

It is so much fun watching my girls grow up. They are such good friends, albeit a few arguments here and there. When I catch them hugging or putting their arms around each other, it wells up some major emotions in me. I have that, “grab the camera” moment and it brings me such pride. They are so adorable in how they act together.

Today, they were outside and playing house (or school…??? one minute I heard, “yes Mrs. B”, her teachers name and the next minute I heard, “okay mom”). I sat nearby and just watched them interact. At one point, Pig Me Too caught me glancing at her and listening in and she blushed and said, “hi mommy, we’re just playing”. It was SOOOOO cute! Usually when I’m playing with them, I am pushing a swing or watching them slide… but if I sit down and read a magazine or talk on the phone, their imaginations go wild. I love it.

I am so glad that they have each other. I’m so glad that I have my sis too… 🙂

3 responses

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I love my sisters and am glad they are both near.

    March 11, 2008 at 5:33 am

  2. I’m so glad you and your sister have that, and that your girls do, too. It took my sister and I awhile to get there. She’s much older than I am, so we both felt like only children growing up. Now we’re total opposites, but we’re there for eachother all the time.
    I love reading about you and your sister here, and on her blog. You ladies have such an amazing relationship!

    March 18, 2008 at 2:57 pm

  3. It is wonderful that you and your sister are so close, and by sharing that wonderful relationship, you are also modeling it for your daughters! Good for you, and lucky for them! Hope you and your family have a wonderful Easter! Love and hugs, Snow

    March 21, 2008 at 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

