Ramblings from my life…

To do: Hug kids lots

I’m making a to do list. Tomorrow I am going on a business trip with my husband. Since he goes on trips about every other week – I decided that I’m going with him on this one. He is going to a sunny, warm state and my bones are way too cold to pass this one up.

My parents are taking the girls, since they still have school. The longest I’ve been away from them is two nights, 3 days… this will be 3 nights – well, our flight gets in around 11 pm, so they won’t see me until after the 4th night. So, you can imagine my anxiety. I have complete faith – not only that the Lord will protect them… but in my parents ability to care for them. That is not where my anxiety lies… it is just the mere thought of not being able to hug and kiss them. I’m so used to hearing them laugh, play, sing, cry and yes, even whine that it will be hard not to think about what they are doing.

Pig Will has school each day, so I’m sure the time will fly by for her. Pig Me Too has preschool on Tues/Thurs afternoon… so, it will be a bit more noticeable for her. She has become very cuddly and clingy since Pig Will started full time school, so we have the habit of being together pretty much non-stop. She will play by herself when I shower, but usually in the bathroom. Every once in awhile she will go up to her sisters room and play dollies… but not for longer than 10 minutes. I’m sure she will be fine with Grammy… I’m not too worried about her… it’s me I’m worried about! Husband will be in meetings all day… so it will be just me, the hotel and the beach. I’m not a big beach person, but I plan on taking a novel and finally reading the whole thing through in a short period of time. I will also run each day – maybe on the beach? We’ll see.

So we’ve spent the day being extra cuddly and playing lots of games. We even spent a good deal outside swinging and playing ball. As I finish up my “to do” list and pack my bag, I’m going to add to the end, “hug kids lots” because that is the most important thing “to do”.

One response

  1. Amazingly resilient the kids will be great and probably enjoy the time with Grandma & Grandpa. Sadly, we are not so resilient and are quite dependent on our luvvy times with our kids.

    Try to do the things you can’t when your kids are around. The novel is probably a great start. Have a great time!

    February 26, 2008 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

