Ramblings from my life…

Running, Recipes and Renovations!

Running: I am getting to the point where I actually crave running. My husband, who is an avid runner, is more than delighted to hear this! I obviously can’t run every day because I have a 4 year old at home… but if my husband gets home early enough, I can sneak a run before he goes for one. I can also run on the weekends and on Tuesday/Thursday when Pig Me Too is at preschool. However, the weather was bitter cold this weekend. Not to mention we were up until midnight for a week straight painting and working in the basement. (more on that below!) So, even though I wanted to go running – my fear of freezing overcame my craving. I despise cold weather!

Recipes: I’ve been meaning to post some of the new dishes I’ve tried, mostly made up. I just can’t seem to follow a recipe! I either don’t like an ingredient in it, or I don’t have it on hand, or I simply don’t know what to do with it! I’m really enjoying chopping. Funny, huh? I love the sound of the knife cutting through bell peppers… or how much fun it is to chop fresh rosemary. I know, I NEVER thought that I would remotely love anything to do with cooking. I used to just go through the steps to get something on the table. I’m not quite sure what clicked in me to make me want to cook – but I’m glad that it did! I’ve made pizza twice now. I used a box kit from Pampered Chef to which you just add Olive Oil, hot water and yeast. Then knead the dough, roll out and put on your toppings. I found some yummy “pizza sauce” from Trader Joes. I covered the adult pizza with mozzarella and feta, sundried tomatoes on half and a bit of salami … next time we will add pineapple! The kids pizza was plain cheese.

Homemade Pizza!

Renovations! We are close to being done! The kids playroom side is mostly completed and they have enjoyed playing down there the last two days! They just need some baseboard trim and outlet cover plates. (details!) The living room side, well… that is another story. My husband decided to add a wood frame to the TV wall. It is plywood with quarter round trim… which needs to be primed and painted before we can hang the TV. Then, we need to assemble the cabinet for the media stuff, paint the ceiling, put up an new light in the middle and baseboard trim.

We spent the late nights painting – on the long wall which connects the two rooms we did a textured paint before adding the color… so that took quite a bit of elbow grease! We did that to help ease the transition from the two rooms since previously there was a wall and door there! Enjoy the pictures!

playroom tv wall transition
*click on thumbnails to view larger
2 responses

  1. Wow Kim, the renovations really look fabulous! I love that color blue that you picked out. My daughter has the same kitchen… too funny, huh? I didn’t know you were running, but I think that’s great!

    January 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm

  2. Everything looks great! I hear you on the cooking stuff…I don’t what made it click in me either, but it has made life a little easier.

    I’m excited to see the new rooms! You do know we’re coming on Sat, right?? K and T are supposed to be getting a hotel room.

    January 24, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

