Ramblings from my life…

Reflections…

The evening before my wedding in May, 7 years ago, two of my bridesmaids left. There was hardly any communication on why and me, being in my “I’m getting married tomorrow” zone – completely lost it. Fled down the stairs crying and screaming so loud that my mother thought my fiance had been in an accident. Hearing what happened, my sister got to work and found two of my other friends to be stand-in bridesmaids. She took them shopping after the rehearsal dinner and stayed up until midnight altering them to fit. When I woke up the next morning, a calm came over me. I showered and prayed for my wedding, my marriage and our future. My dad and I walked downtown and bought bagels for my bridesmaids and while they got their hair done and ate, I went across the street to a dear friends house. She is a wise woman with 5 children. I told her what had happened the night before and she prayed with me. More peace filled my heart and I was able to enjoy the rest of my day. Especially the becoming “Mrs.” to the man of my dreams part!!!

God puts obstacles in our path to make us stronger. We might not always like that part of His plan – or see clearly WHY He wants us to overcome these challenges… but never-the-less, they are part of His awesome plan for our lives. They will strengthen us, our characters, our relationships. Whenever I find myself in the midst of a hardship, I repeat my favorite Bible verse, Jeremiah 29:11. “For I know the plans I have for you.” Declares the Lord!, “plans to prosper you, not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future!”

What an amazing promise.

2 responses

  1. Just linked to your blog from CWO. You share some thoughts I resonate with.

    January 24, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  2. Pingback: Dear You… « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

