Ramblings from my life…

We’re eating WHAT???

I’ve been trying to cook more healthy – but also just trying to be domestic and COOK more often. Since going to Italy, my husband and I have decided that we love Italian food – mostly because of the Olive Oil. As a token, our Villa owner sent us home with a bottle of homemade OO that was wonderful. We used the entire bottle within two weeks. My sister also gave us a bottle for Christmas, which is EMPTY. I have used it in every dish that I’ve cooked recently and it is also our salad dressing and pasta topping.

My sister also gave us two cook books, one Italian one for Christmas and one called “Deceptively Delicious” for my birthday. (yes, the one by Jessica Seinfeld who is being sued – ridiculous! I personally don’t care if someone else came up with the recipes, she added her own kicks and comments!)

I have used both cookbooks non-stop back and forth. I’m not one to follow recipes to a tee… since I usually don’t have all the fancy ingredients… but I’m getting them pretty close. I’ve made cheese Quesadillas with pureed sweet potatoes – which the kids gobbled up with ranch dip and husband and I ate with avocado and peach salsa. Last night we tried “Sloppy Joes” – ground turkey with garlic, onion, pepper, salt and yes, Olive Oil! Then pureed butternut squash and tomato sauce all mixed together. I left out a few things like Worcestershire – thinking the kids would turn their noses to the spicy taste. They were pretty good and tasted a bit better topped with ketchup.

On the Italian side, I’ve made a few pasta dishes and some pizza… not venturing into the chef just yet! I made whole wheat thin spaghetti with some cream cheese and Olive Oil! and some Chicken, yellow peppers and fresh tomatoes seasoned and cooked with pepper and salt. Another night I did the whole wheat noodles with just Olive Oil and the seasoned peppers and tomatoes… I think it would be more flavorful with some fresh Basil and garlic. We are also very attached to a Spinach salad with craisins, almond slices and goat cheese… topped with a bit of balsamic vinegar and… you guessed it Olive Oil! (are you tired of me saying that yet???)

4 responses

  1. Lucia

    I fully support your love of olive oil. Have you seen http://www.olio2go.com? Great selection!

    January 11, 2008 at 6:52 pm

  2. Olive oil is the finest among oils. It has healing properties too. And wait, I love Italian pasta too!

    January 13, 2008 at 2:21 am

  3. I love olive oil too and use it in so much of what I do. It’s right up there with garlic. I love trying new things in the kitchen and your new cookbooks sound just divine!
    I tried a new Shrimp Parmesan recipe the other night and it was to die for! I love it when a plan comes together in the kitchen! 🙂

    January 14, 2008 at 10:55 am

  4. YUM!!! All sounds great to this non-cook (but trying) here! ;o)

    Amy xoxo

    January 16, 2008 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

