Ramblings from my life…

Delr Santa

Yes, I spelled that right. That is what I found on a letter that Pig Will wrote. The rest of the letter contains pictures of things she would like for Christmas. I think the best one is where she drew a pony and then stuck a sticker of a My Little Pony on the face! Pig Me Too’s letter has mostly circles and a few faces. Then Pig Will wrote the message for her and signed it with her name.

The last few days I’ve been doing a house purge. That is get rid of things we don’t need, clear the clutter and give to Good Will. I started in our office by shreading old reciepts and organizing the desk. Then I cleared out the wall pictures that still haven’t been hung in two years and put them up in Pig Me Too’s closet. The next day was to conquer dear husband’s pile of clothes. Since his return from Afghanistan, things seemed to migrated on top of each other and never put away. This isn’t his fault, as his drawers were over stuffed. He is the cleanest man on the planet… I call him Mr. Clean, Mr. Right Angles. So anyway, his sea bag with camouflage and boots were still sitting there and all the clean clothes I’ve washed since his return on top. I went through his drawers and made a Good Will pile and then imagine this… his clothes fit in the drawers! Then I took the filthy dog bed apart to see if washing it makes Rusty Roo sleep on it. If not, I’m tossing it.

The next day I attacked the basement while both girls were in school. I only had 2.5 hours alone. Now, it wasn’t that the basement was super messy – it was just that a big chunk of the toys had not been taken care of, little pieces of paper were under the table, a few Legos stuffed under the couch… So, it took me an hour to organize piles of cards, Legos, puzzles, games and then put them away. I threw away things that didn’t have all the pieces and made a Good Will pile for things that were for babies. I made 6 stations for them. The reading station with a bookcase and the couch. The color/craft station with a table, chairs and a bookcase with coloring books. The kitchen station with their kitchen and a bin full of play food. The dress up station with dress up clothes and play jewelry. The cabinet that has puzzles, games and cards station and finally, the toy chest which has Legos and stuffed animals. That is it. I don’t think two little girls need any more than that. I also moved the Littlest Pet Shop upstairs to Pig Me Too’s room where there are Barbies and Weebles. Pig Will’s room has the Dora House, Polly Pockets and a few Groovy Girls. Anything with small parts is a room toy.

So, today I am going to catch up on laundry, vacuum and clean the bathroom. Fun!

4 responses

  1. Sounds like you got a lot acomplished. Good for you. Thanks for not throwing that stuff away. I know so many who don’t want to take the time to drive stuff down to their local charity house. It’s a shame.

    God Bless.

    November 30, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  2. Sounds like you’ve been busy. I like your idea of the different stations. I still haven’t organized the boys’ playroom and probably won’t until after Christmas, but I may use some of your ideas for their room. Thanks.

    December 2, 2007 at 4:51 pm

  3. So, you’re coming to do my house next, right?

    December 2, 2007 at 7:55 pm

  4. Pingback: Merry… Renovations? « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

