Ramblings from my life…

Pumpkin 101

I never knew there were so many recipes for Pumpkin. A few years ago a friend gave me a great pumpkin bread recipe which is really easy to make. However, I wanted to make them into muffins yesterday but didn’t know how much time to cook them for. The bread takes about an hour so I knew it would be around 20 minutes per batch. I didn’t want to just guess, so I looked it up on the internet. I went straight to the site that sponsors Libby’s canned Pumpkin and there was a list of things to make with Pumpkin. Everything from pasta dishes to desserts. So, anyway, I didn’t find one for muffins that I wanted to use, so I made the Pumpkin bread.

We are in the middle of yet another kitchen project. A year ago we started remodeling the kitchen. My husband gutted it (read: As Chilly as… Spring?) down to the studs and put in new drywall, cabinets, countertops and appliances. On Christmas Eve the plumbing was being finished up as the doorbell rang with guest. When we started the project, we did not know that Hubs would get an IA (individual augmentation)… we found out right after Thanksgiving. This week, last year. The kitchen was in working order but we did not have paint, trim, door knob on the pantry, backsplash, etc. So, he left for 7 months and we are finally getting back to the project.

The girls love to help me bake, however, since the oven is in the middle of the kitchen, it makes for a tight space. Usually I let the girls each stand on a chair and take turns pour things in and stirring. Crying broke loose when I said that only one chair would fit. Luckily I could think quickly and came up with the idea of one on the chair for each ingredient, then switch. Granted it took twice as long to mix the batter, but it was a fun challenge. Pig Will would crack an egg, hop down. Pig Me Too would pour in sugar, hop down. I think I might do it that way for now on… then there isn’t someone on both sides of me and it is easier to move around.

2 responses

  1. Belle and Little Bear usually just share a chair. Sometimes they get into a little shoving match, but then they both have to get down and not help at all. That’s only happened a couple of time. I don’t know what I’ll do when Little Lamb wants to help! Maybe Belle will be tall enough by then to just stand…

    November 26, 2007 at 9:37 am

  2. It will feel so good to have your kitchen finished. We completely remodeled our whole house in the middle of adopting….even added asecond story. Anyways, it was tough living with our 8 kids over at Grandma and Grandpa’s house till it was done. I’m very thankful that they took us in.

    November 30, 2007 at 1:26 pm

Leave a Reply

