Ramblings from my life…

Fun with Rhyming

Both children are really into rhyming. They will pick a word and try to find any words that rhyme with them… however, lately, it is just a fun way to rhyme anything, word or not. Pig Me Too was dancing around the house singing her words and delighting in herself, when I heard – “duck, truck, suck” and then laughter… she continued with a new word, thank goodness… I thought the “s” word was bad enough! I just hope she doesn’t do her rhyming game at preschool or church. I guess kids will be kids though… otherwise we wouldn’t say, “out of the mouths of babes” – right? Like when you are in the bathroom of a department store and your 3 year old shouts at the top of her lungs, “Mommy! Are you going potty?” and describing which deed you are doing. Ah, the joys of parenting.

Pig Will had to make a diorama for Thanksgiving. It had to depict Native American life. We took some little people and put them at a table with some turkey and built a fire out of twigs… we also put a picture of the Mayflower in the background. I helped her stick tack-n-stic on the people and she placed them where she wanted. Sometimes I think that the homework is more for the parents – to see if we are attentive to what is going on at school. I mean with all the papers that come home each day, sometimes I miss ones that say “homework” at my first glance. They are just beginning to learn to read – so they don’t know if they have homework in their folders… that is up to mom and dad to figure out! I am really proud of her though… Pig Will got her first real “report card” and they don’t get actual grades until first grade, but she had check marks for how she was doing in each area. I have to say that she is very advanced!

2 responses

  1. The girls sound so cute and joyous. They are a true blessing to you, I can tell.

    November 17, 2007 at 9:50 pm

  2. Oh yes, mine have played that rhyming game too. My oldest actually was rhyming dodo one day at the bank. She was about 3 and she came out with dildo. Yep. I could have died!!!

    kThe girls sound so full of life and fun!!! Enjoy it and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    November 19, 2007 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

