Ramblings from my life…

Life, changing…

Every day we get older. Our minds grow along with our bodies and then when we’ve reached the peak they start to unfold. Sometimes minds get weaker and usually bodies do also. Things are constantly moving, changing and unfolding.

Yesterday we met Pig Will’s new Kindergarten teacher. She seems really nice and I signed up to be a room mother (as if I wasn’t already busy enough?). I am 31 years old… I don’t feel “old” but how is it possible that I have a child in Kindergarten?  I can remember her screaming with reflux and arching her back. I can remember her having night mares and the whole monster bit where I actually had to created some “monster go away spray” to spritz in her room each night. I can remember teaching her colors, numbers, the ABC’s and other primary things. I can remember (all too well) potty training her. The list goes on and on. Now comes the time where I must give my little girl up for the entire day, all day long. Atleast I’ll still have Pig Me Too at home most of the time… but she will be in Tuesday/Thursday preschool from 1-4 pm. Know what that means? That means that I will have 6 hours alone, all to myself – for the first time in 5 years. At first I thought… hm, whatever will I do? The obvious things like catch up on a good book, the laundry and planning real dinners came to mind. However, I’ve decided to take up running. I ran cross country in High School for a few years, then took it up again when I was dating my husband… but never really stuck with it. I’m going to use the first hour and a half of each 3 hour period to work out and get in good shape. This is my only body, this is my only life – you only get to go through it once. It is a God-given gift. It is a blessing to be alive and I’m not going to waste precious future moments. What I mean is I want to be able to play with grandkids and great-grandkids. I want to be able to travel LOTS with my husband when he retires. I want to be the ones to go visit family members – not sit around and wait for them to come see me.

Life is constantly changing and we have to keep sharp and in shape to keep up.

2 responses

  1. Sounds like a great thing to do with your free time, at least until it gets cold, then you could ski.

    August 29, 2007 at 10:32 pm

  2. I was nodding up until the running part. 😉 Running and I don’t get along well at all – BUT it is a wonderful pursuit and I wish you luck with it.

    Did school start? We’re this week. Logan went today; Meg starts Friday. I still have no alone time. K is half-day here and for us, it’s afternoon. preschool in our house is morning. At the time I signed Meg up it seemed like a good idea. Now I can’t figure out why. ha!

    September 5, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

